Facebook Twitter



A series of theater production workshops will be conducted at Promised Valley Playhouse during 1988 for individuals and Church groups, according to J. Murray Rawson, general manager, who also announced the appointment of a 21-member advisory board.

A four-day, four session workshop is scheduled for each month from January through May, and from September through November, Rawson said. Each session will be from 7 to 10 nightly.The first session of each workshop will cover organizing, calendaring, advertising and brainstorming. The second session is on staging, acting, directing, blocking, movement and rehearsals. Artistic support is the subject of the third session, covering costumes, makeup, music and choreography. The final session covers technical support matters such as set design and building, lights, sound, stage and cast management.

Following are dates on which workshops are scheduled: Jan. 12-13, 19-20; Feb. 9-10, 16-17; March 8-9, 15-16; April 12-13, 19-20; May 10-11, 17-18; Sept. 13-14, 20-21; Oct. 11-12, 18-19; and Nov. 8-9, 15-16.

Rawson said participants may attend the full four-part series or individual workshops. The cost is $20 per individual for the series or $7.50 for one workshop. A group rate of $80 for the series is available for up to five individuals, he said.

Reservations and payment in advance can be made by writing Karen Trifiletti at the Promised Valley Playhouse, 132 S. State Street, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111. For more information, call 364-5686.

The new advisory board is chaired by Ruth H. Funk, former Young Women general president, and includes Rawson; Moana Bennett, playwright and former chair of the Church MIA Drama Committee; Ray Bryant, director of Church operations and maintenance; Kim Burningham, Bountiful High School drama drector and state legislator; Margo Butler, writer-producer and special education coordinator for LDS seminaries.

Others are Janielle Christensen, production manager for BYU music, theater and media; Newell Dayley, composer and chairman of the BYU Music Department; Keith Engar, former Church Activities Committee chairman and former dean of fine arts at the University of Utah; Robert Leake, administrative assistant for the Church Activities Committee, and Richard Lindsay, managing director of LDS Public Comminications/Special Affairs.

Also Kathleen Lubeck, manager of campaigns and planning for LDS Public Communications/Special Affairs, and Young Women general board member; Jayne Malan, first counselor in the Young Women general presidency; Iain McKay, marketing manager of Bonneville Media Communications, and chairman of the Temple Square Concert Series.

Other board members include Michael McLean, composer, playwright and producer with Bonneville Media Communications; Warren Metcalf, assistant director of Temple Square; Douglas Mitchell, Salt Lake attorney; Michael Moody, chairman of Church Music Committee; Harold Oaks, chairman of the BYU Theater Department; Lyle Shamo, director of Church audiovisual planning and development; and Rebecca Simpson, director of public relations for the Salt Lake Convention and Visitors Bureau.