clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Scholastic excellence, citizenship and service accumulated during years of high school studies paid off for 36 students in Ephraim Thursday evening.

Twelve winners and 24 runners-up were announced during ceremonies in the Snow College activities center for the 17th annual Sterling Scholars of Central Utah. The program, patterned after the Deseret News-KSL program instituted 27 years ago, is one of five in the state.

Others include the Wasatch Front and those in southeast, southwest and northeast Utah.

Judging was conducted March 28 in Centerfield, but the top scholars were not disclosed until the ceremonies Thursday. Judges from Brigham Young University, Southern Utah State College and Utah Valley Community College examined the students' portfolios and then interviewed each, according to Mark and Margie Anderson, co-chairmen of the program.

Participating schools included Delta, Gunnison, Juab, Manti, Mil-lard, North Sanpete, North Sevier, Richfield, South Sevier, Tintic, Wasatch Academy and Wayne high schools.

All candidates received Sterling Scholar pins and certificates. The winners each received $200 and runners-up $100. In addition, the top scholars received scholarship offers from Utah colleges and universities.

Extending a welcome to the students, parents and educators was Snow College President Steven Bennion.

Master of ceremonies for Thursday's program was Jerry Johnston, Deseret News columnist, and speaker was Douglas W. Loosle, assistant superintendent of the Sevier School District.

Molly McKay, Mt. Pleasant, a winner in speech and drama last year, presented a tribute to teachers and parents.

The following are winners, listed first, and runners-up, listed alphabetically:

ENGLISH -- David Call, Manti; Loni Anderson, Richfield; and Bonnie Baugh, Millard.

SPEECH/DRAMA -- Annalyn Roberts, North Sanpete; Lance J. Ham-blin, South Sevier; and Kristen Olsen, Manti.

MATHEMATICS -- Brandon Howard, Juab; Murray Clay, Delta; and Sean Thompson, Manti.

SOCIAL SCIENCE -- Julie Limberg, Millard; Kaye Christensen, North Sanpete; and Jimmy Morrison, Richfield.

SCIENCE -- Michael Eyre, Richfield; Aleta Boardman, Delta; and Taunya Brown, Gunnison.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE -- Kenda Hansen, Richfield; Loren Taylor, Mil-lard; and Yvonne Viehmann, Wasatch Academy.

VISUAL ARTS -- Tiffany Johnson, Richfield; Dustin Hansen, Manti; and Jennifer Jenkins, South Sevier.

INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION -- Glen Swallow, Millard; Guy Gonder, Delta; and Jed Pace, Wayne.

HOMEMAKING -- Cynthia Bush, Richfield; Julee Hilton, Wayne; and Tonya Strong, Millard.

BUSINESS EDUCATION -- Kalene Kimball, Richfield; Brian Holman, Delta; and Melanie Rasmussen, Manti.

MUSIC -- Brett D. Littke, South Sevier; Paula Sedgwick, Richfield; and Kim Shand, Manti.

GENERAL SCHOLARSHIP -- David M. Menea, South Sevier; Lance Harrison, Richfield; and Tracey Wil-lingham, Wasatch Academy.