clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Five honorary doctorates will be awarded during Utah State University's centennial commencement on June 4. Among the recipients are two USU alumni.

Ellis L. Armstrong, who was commissioner of the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation from 1968-1972 and commissioner of Public Roads from 1958-1961, received a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from USU in 1936.Robert Shaw Hoffmann, assistant secretary for research of the Smithsonian Institution, earned a bachelor of science degree in zoology in 1950. He taught at the University of Montana and at the University of Kansas.

Others to receive honorary doctorates are: Mark Evans Austad, a former U.S. ambassador to Finland and Norway; Dr. Nicholas C. Leone, former chief medical investigator for the National Institute of Health; and Shigeo Shingo, a Japanese industrialist known as one of the world's foremost experts on improving quality and productivity in manufacturing.

Austad, an Ogden native, will speak during the 9 a.m. commencement ceremony in the Spectrum. He worked for Metromedia in Washington, D.C., and was chairman of the Washington Cherry Blossom Festival for two years. Austad also was chairman of President Richard Nixon's 1968 inaugural ball and vice chairman of his 1972 inaugural.

Leone is a recognized expert on fluoride and its effects on dental health, bone development and osteoporosis. He has done extensive research with veterinarians and animal scientists at USU.

Shingo founded the Institute of Manufacturing Improvement and has trained thousands of executives. His 19th book is scheduled for release this year, and he recently presented USU's Merrill Library an extensive collection of his books and those of other leaders in industrial management and productivity.