clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Cash awards and scholarships were announced last week as the Brigham Young University art department opened its annual exhibit of student works.

Keynote speaker at the awards banquet was Brent Wilson, professor of art education at Pennsylvania State University, who also served as guest juror for the student show. An artist and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, he titled his address, "In the World and in the Church: Dilemmas of the Young Mormon Artist in a Post-Modern Era."His selection for the top juror's choice award of $200 was David Andersen for his overall works in the student exhibit. Brian Kershisnik, Jamie Rees and Tal Walton won $100 each. Awards of $50 went to Keiko Tanifuji, Bruce Brainard and Marla Mitchell. Winners of $25 awards were Bill Carman, Steve Griffin, Robin Phelps, Sydney Bowman, Brad Aldridge, Neal Slade, Holly Chase and Brian Christensen.

The department annnounced various other awards, totaling more than $28,000. Two Provo High seniors won full tuition scholarships for their entries in the Springville Museum of Art's annual high school student competition, Sun-Young Kim for watercolor and Kenny Yang for ceramics. They were among 130 students who participated in the show.

The Vera Hinckley Mayhew Creative Award for art went to four students: Garold Barton, Robert Sumner, David Andersen and Cherie Benner. Art education majors Marcia Brickey Field, Kelli Westover, and Marjorie Benson received the Lavieve Huish Earl Award. Kathleen Kinghorn, Deborah Morgan, and Daryl Hunt won special recognition as graduating seniors in art education.

Other award winners include Steve Bartholomew, John B. Fairbanks Oil Painting Award; Chris young, Jeffrey Alan Demery Creative Award; Todd Stilson, LeVere Hutchings Watercolor Award; and Bradley Aldridge, J. Roman Andrus Printmaking Award. A watercolor and pencil piece titled "Kathleen's Roses" earned Chris Young the law school's purchase award for the third year in a row.

Outstanding student awards went to graduating seniors Carollynn McConnell, art education; Colleen Rickertsen, art history; and Jacquelyn Biggs Larsen, studio. Larsen also received the dean's award as outstanding art student. Tina Maki, president of the Art History Association, received special recognition.

One-year Anna F. Sommers scholarships were awarded to undergraduates Pamela Christiansen and Sandra Phillips-Saydyk, art education; Tamra Carlson, art history: and Todd stilson and Kelly Hebert, studio. Mrs. Will Ward scholarships for art history study went to BYU student Paul Nelson and University of Utah student Ruth A.M. Gier, first-place tie; Jillian Ehninger, third; and Dawn Pheysey and Marian Wardle, honorable mention. The last three are U. of U. students.