Ogden civic worker/philanthropist Thomas D. Dee II, president of the Dee Co., will be honored May 17 by the Utah Affiliate of the National Society to Prevent Blindness.

Also among those to be honored by the society as it observes its 30th anniversary will be Deseret News medical writer JoAnne Jacobsen-Wells.Awards to Dee, the writer and 10 others who have furthered the cause of sight preservation will coincide with the observance of the Utah affiliate's 30th anniversary.

Awards will be presented during a banquet in the Grand Ballroom of the Red Lion Inn.

Also to be honored are Margaret Regan; Marion Palmer; Dr. Homer E. Smith; Dr. Richard W. Sonntag; Dr. Orson W. White; Ames K. Bagley; Michael A. Runge; Dr. Gary B. Stanford; Dr. Kim Y. Taylor, and Richard G. Taylor.

Regan was originator and first chairwoman of the Utah Society and Palmer was the second chairwoman. Both have remained active volunteers in the program.

Before becoming affiliated with the Deseret News, Jacobsen-Wells was an executive director and board member of the association. She has taken a special interest in ophthalmologic research and progress in her role as medical writer.

Banquet tickets are $75. For information, call 524-2020.

Proceeds from the benefit dinner will be used in the society's sight-saving programs, including screening children for amblyopia and providing glaucoma screening and visual acuity testing for adults.