Facebook Twitter



The Utah Bankers Association closed out its 80th annual convention here this week with election of new officers for 1988-89 and awarding of its highest honor, the Distinguished Banker Award.

Rex G. Plowman, president and chairman of Lewiston State Bank, Cache County, received the prestigious award from outgoing UBA president Lewis A. Harris.Harris said the award is given in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding achievement in banking and community service.It is presented when the association deems a particular banker worthy of the honor, rather than annually.

F. Calvin Packard, president and chairman of Central Bank and Trust, Springville, was elected president of the Utah Bankers Association, which represents Utah's 41 commercial banks.

Robert B. White Jr., president of Utah Independent Bank, Salina, Sevier County, was elected vice president, and five other Utah bankers were elected to serve two-year terms on the UBA's 14-member board of directors.

Those new directors are Michael D. Fowler, executive vice president and chief financial officer, First Interstate Bank of Utah; Curtis H. Harris, executive vice president, Barnes Banking Co.; Roy C. Nelson, president, Bank of Utah; Ronald N. Sprat-ling Jr., president and chairman Holladay Bank and Trust; and James C. Stewart, chairman and chief executive officer, Continental Bank.

During the awards ceremony at Sun Valley's Opera House, bankers and friends honored Plowman for his significant lifetime contributions to banking and society.

Plowman began his banking career 40 years ago after graduating with honors from Utah State University in business and economics. He began with Lewiston State Bank as a teller-management trainee and moved through the ranks of the bank until becoming its president and chairman.

As a banker, he has served in many industry-related organizations, including chairmanships of the American Bankers Association Agricultural and Livestock Division and the Utah Bankers Association Agriculture Committee.

He was UBA president in 1981-82 and continues to serve on the UBA Legislative Council. Harris said Plowman enjoys a reputation among his peers as one of Utah's premier agricultural bankers.

Plowman has been active in community affairs, providing leadership in the Lewiston Lions Club, the American Legion, Lewiston and Utah Jaycees, the Cache Chamber of Commerce, and the Logan LDS Hospital where he was board chairman in 1974.

He was a member of the Utah State University Institutional Council for two years, then served on the Utah State Board of Regents from 1971-83. USU honored him with an honorary doctorate of humanities in 1984 and with its Centennial Award in 1987.

Packard, new UBA president, was appointed in 1981 to the Advisory Council of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors, the national organization for the 50 state bank regulators throughout the United States. He was re-elected in 1987.

He served on the executive council of the Western Independent Bankers Association and was president in 1978. He was mayor of Springville for eight years and was also a member of the Springville City Council. Packard was vice president of the UBA last year and served on the UBA Legislative Committee.

White, the new UBA vice president, has been in banking for some 30 years. He began his career as the agricultural specialist for a bank in eastern Colorado and has been the managing officer of three banks in two states.

Fowler received an MBA from the University of Utah in 1971. Prior to joining First Interstate Bank, he was treasurer of Northwest Energy Co. He has been active in the United Way, Junior Achievement, the Utah Girl Scout Council and Catholic Community Services. He is currently chairman of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce Leadership Utah program.

Nelson is a graduate of the University of Utah. He began his banking career with Commercial Security Bank where he was the senior lending officer. Before joining Bank of Utah, he was executive vice president of the Utah Division of American Savings and Loan. Nelson is a board member of McKay-Dee Hospital and the Ogden Rotary Club. He was board chairman of the Weber State College Institutional Council from 1981-86.

Ronald Spratling is a graduate of the University of Utah College of Law. He was assistant attorney general for Utah and counsel to the Department of Business Regulation. He was in private law practice before becoming a founding member of Holladay Bank and Trust in 1974. He is a member of the American and Utah State Bar associations and the American Trial Lawyers Association. He is also president of Holladay Lumber and Hardware Co.

Stewart joined Continental Bank, the Utah subsidiary of Moore Financial Group, Boise, in January, 1987. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri. Stewart was a banker in Kansas City, Mo., before joining Moore in 1984. Since moving to Utah, he has been named to the board of governors of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce and also serves in the Young Presidents Organization.

Other UBA board members serving this year are Roger C. Andersen, vice president, Gunnison Valley Bank; J. Douglas Christensen, president, Bonneville Bank; Robert D. Myrick, executive vice president, Valley Bank & Trust; Harris H. Sim-mons, executive vice president, Zions First National Bank.

Lawrence W. Alder is UBA executive vice president and a member of the board.