Facebook Twitter



Incumbents didn't fare well in local races in Carbon, Sanpete and Uintah counties, while many of those elsewhere were a step closer to re-election after primary races Tuesday.

In the Carbon County Democratic primary, voters turned out longtime local politician Guido Rachiele from his four-year seat on the Carbon County Commission.Political newcomer Emma R. Kuyken-dall, a retired state construction engineer, won the race with nearly 61 percent of the vote. She also won the election, since no Republicans are vying for the seat.

Rachiele said that the election results meant that voters were ready for a change. "She was running as a new individual, and I was running as an incumbent."

He had served on the commission for a total of 14 years and has also spent a total of six years on the Price City Council. Rachiele said that after his long political career, nothing, including this election, surprises him. He did not rule out running for office again.

Kuykendall told voters that if elected, she would promote tourism, develop industry and push for the growth of the College of Eastern Utah.

The two Democratic challengers for the two-year Carbon County Commission seat vacated by Chairman Lee Semken ran a close race. Lynda Critchlow Varner, an educator for the past 15 years, won with nearly 53 percent of the vote.

Varner also stressed economic development as well as the development of area museums and recreation opportunities. She defeated local business owner J.R. (Bob) Olson, who said his administrative experience would help him handle the county budget.


Voters rejected a re-election bid by current Sanpete County Commissioner Wendell H. McGarry of Ephraim, who lost to turkey grower Leonard Blackham of Moroni for a two-year term.

McGarry, chairman of the Utah Parks and Recreation Board, said he believed voters did not support his stand on the need for a new county landfill. "They just didn't want to face it at this time," McGarry said.

Blackham, who won with more than 72 percent of the vote, will face Democrat Ed Painter of Spring City in the general election.

In the race for a four-term on the San-pete County Commission, Democrats chose Mt. Pleasant Mayor Amoir Deuel over former Sanpete County Commissioner Newton Donaldson of Moroni. Deuel, who received more than 64 percent of the vote, will face incumbent Republican Robert Bessey of Manti in November.


Voters said they favor retaining ownership of and expanding the Uintah Care Center, a county-operated senior citizens' home, by a margin of slightly more than 72 percent to almost 28 percent.

That sentiment helped defeat incumbent Uintah County Commissioner Thomas Wardell, who lost his Republican primary race to retain his four-year seat against part-time farmer Glen McKee. McKee got slight more than 59 percent of the votes cast.

Wardell said voters may have misinterpreted his position, which was to go along with whatever the non-binding poll decided. He said that he felt it was necessary to point out, however, that a tax increase might be needed to continue to pay for the center's operation.

In the race for a two-year seat on the Uintah County Commission, incumbent Republican Jim N. Reidhead won slightly less than 52 percent of the vote against GOP challenger Elouise N. Turner.


In the Democratic primary for a four-year term on the Box Elder County Commission, retired game warden and commercial pilot Darald Fuller beat dairy farmer Cleon Summers, with nearly 56 percent of the vote.

Monte R. Munns took more than 74 percent of the vote in the Republican primary race for the position of Box Elder County Assessor against Karolyn Wilson-Frost.


The successful candidates in the Democratic and Republican primaries for a vacant four-year seat on the Grand County Commission both support going along with whatever voters decide on the controversial waste incinerator issue in a referendum on the November ballot.

The incumbent and the victor in the Republican primary is current Grand County Commission Chairman Jimmie Walker, who won with 62.5 percent of the vote. He will face Democrat Merv Lawton, who said he personally opposes the proposed hazardous waste incinerator at Cisco. Lawton received 65 percent of the vote in the Democratic primary.


Iron County Commissioner James C. Robinson beat his Republican primary opponent, real estate broker Frank W. Nichols, with more than 61 percent of the vote. He will face Democrat Wesley Blake in November for his two-year seat.

In the race to fill the four-year seat vacated by Iron County Commissioner Dee Cowan, Robert L. Gardner bested Louie P. Tong in the Republican primary with almost 59 percent of the vote. Gardner will square off against Democrat Sonny Richardson in the general election.


In the Republican primary for a two-year seat on the Sevier County Commission, retired business executive Jay F. Gardner took more than 51 percent of the vote to beat businessman and former Richfield City Councilman Paul Turner.


Summit County Planning Commissioner G. LaMar Pace beat hospital maintenance engineer Mark S. Robertson in the Republican primary for a four-year Summit County Commission Seat.

Pace, who is a dairy farmer and sheep rancher, won just under 59 percent of the vote. He has been a member of the planning commission for 16 years, including eight years as chairman.

WASATCH COUNTY Republican LaRen Provost beat his GOP opponent, Lana B. Riddle in the party's primary for a four-year seat on the Wasatch County Commission. Provost, a former member of the Heber City Council, had just under 64 percent of the vote.

WASHINGTON COUNTY In Washington County, contractor Gayle M. Aldred won the Republican primary by garnering slightly more than 59 percent of the vote over engineer Kim-ball N. Wallace.

Allred had told voters that their leaders must not take tourism for granted He said they must not sit back and assume that people will visit the area automatically.