Brigham City, Lewiston, Midway, Provo, Redmond and Wellington have received the Utah Community Progress awards for 1988.

The award program, in its 16th year, is sponsored by the Utah League of Cities and Towns, the Utah Community and Economic Development Department, and the Utah State University Cooperative Extension Service, said spokesman David Rogers.Brigham City was honored for its community services, said Rogers, Lewiston for human relations, Midway for cultural enrichment, Provo for economic development, Redmond for physical environment, and Wellington for its efforts to improve the town's planning program.

In all, 35 Utah cities and towns were honored at Thursday night's program. Seven communities received first-place awards for most overall progress - Cedar City, Fountain Green, Hyrum, Murray, Pleasant Grove, Richfield and St. George.

Second-place awards went to Alta, Milford, Mapleton, Mount Pleasant, Tremonton and Washington. Third-place recipients were Monticello, Panguitch, Payson, Roosevelt and Sandy.

Nine towns received honorable mention awards. They are: Aurora, Beaver, Helper, LaVerkin, Manti, Midvale, Moroni, Price and Springville.

And Salt Lake City's Sugar House Community Council also was honored with this year's award for community council progress, said Rogers.

The 1988 awards winners were picked by 12 judges who visited each community.