Facebook Twitter



Ute sophomore quarterback Scott Mitchell, who led the NCAA in total offense in 1988, was named the most valuable player at the annual Utah football awards banquet held Sunday night at the University Park hotel.

Mitchell, who set 10 NCAA records, including the single-game passing mark when he threw for 631 yards against Air Force, chalked up a season total of 4,322 passing yards and 29 touchdown passes.Ute senior defensive back Eric Jacobsen picked up three awards, as he was named the most inspirational player, the most valuable defensive back and the defensive captain. Jacobsen led the Utes in tackles.

Senior fullback Bryan Bero received the Walt Deland extra mile award and was named the offensive captain. Freshman defensive back LaVon Edwards, who led the Utes in interceptions with six, was named rookie of the year. Most valuable defensive lineman went to Joe Clausi, while the most valuable offensive lineman award went to Mike Vyfvinkel. Running back Eddie Johnson, the Utes' career rushing leader, was named the most valuable offensive back while kicker Tim Wagstaff was cited as the special teams player of the year. Wide receiver Aaron Grimm received the academic achievement award, while Mark Walejko and Tyrone Calcote were named the offensive and defensive scout team players of the year.