Facebook Twitter



Winners have been announced in this year's Utah Music Teachers Association competition, held Oct. 13-14 at Brigham Young University. They are:

ELEMENTARY: Composition - Jeffrey Lynn Richards (1st).JUNIOR: Strings - Jason Swigert (1st), Rebecca Anderson (2nd), John Wright (honorable mention). Piano - Francie Lin (1st), Amanda Moody (2nd), LaMar Watts, Alena Glauser (HM). Composition - Xiomara Eddings (1st).

SENIOR: Woodwinds - Angela Parkinson (1st), April Clayton (2nd), Aaron Hill (HM). Strings - Martha Thompson (1st), Anne Perry (2nd), Kevan Lewis (HM). Piano - Tamami Honma (1st), Mira Gill (2nd), Ruriko Osawa (HM).

COLLEGE: Voice - Marie-Adele Beck (1st). Woodwinds - Lynette Leavitt (1st), Marianne Cutchins (2nd), JoEllen Turley (HM). Piano - James Margetts (1st), Carmen Hall (2nd). Organ - Gary Adams (1st).

ORGAN: Kierstin Wendel (1st), Eric Oldroyd (alternate).

Seventy-one students participated this year, representing 22 teachers. First-place winners will go on to compete in the Southwest Division Auditions to be held Jan. 20-21 in New Mexico.

-UTAH STATE UNIVERSITY faculty member John Neely was recently named as one of 15 winners of the 1989 WESTAF/NEA Regional Fellowships for Visual Artists. The only Utahn among the group, he will receive $5,000 for "distinguished achievement in a variety of craft media."

Jurors at the Chicago International New Art Forms Exposition last month reviewed nearly 10,000 slides of craft objects submitted by 947 artists. In addition $1,000 matching subsidies are available to art centers and museums in the region to underwrite exhibitions of fellowship artists' work.

Neely came to USU in 1984 and currently exhibits in more than 20 international shows a year.

-BYU FACULTY MEMBER Tom Durham has received a commission from the Salt Lake Vocal Ensemble for an a cappella work to be premiered in Salt Lake City next May at Zion Lutheran Church. Two years ago the group premiered the same composer's "Gloria."