Facebook Twitter



The prep football playoffs are just around the corner - the 2A first-rounders start on Oct. 19 and the 4A, 3A and 1A follow suit the following week - and here's how the region berths are set this fall.

No 4A preliminary playoffs are required as in seasons past, when the fifth-place team from one region would face the fourth-place from another to determine the last of the 16 berths. It's a four-four 4A format - each of the four regions will advance four teams. As for the first-round pairings, it's Region 1 versus Region 2 and Region 3 against Region 4.In the 3A playoffs, seven-member Region 5 gets four spots; eight-team Region 6 is allowed 5, while the six-member Regions 7 and 8 have four and three berths, respectively. It's a change for Region 8, which enjoyed u to six berths a season when it was an eight-team league.

The biggest change is in the 2A ranks, where in the past 16 of the 17 teams made the playoffs - remember, Juab didn't win a game last year but still qualified as the 16th playoff team. This year, the 2A tournament is a 12-team affair, with first-round byes afforded the top two seeds from the two leagues. Region 9 advances six of its eight teams (including independent Grand County), while Region 10 forwards six of its nine (including independent San Juan).

And in the 11-team 1A division, eight teams will comprise the tournament. Three-member Region 11 has two berths; two-member Region 11 sends both on to the postseason; and six-member Region 13 advances four following inter-divisional play.

LONG DISTANCES VS. LEAGUES: Most of the 2A coaches in Regions 9 and 10 aren't too excited that Grand and San Juan can use their independent overall records in qualifying as a first- or second-place region seed in the the playoffs and earn an accompanying first-round bye.

Although the coaches are admittedly uncertain of the caliber of out-of-state opponents that Grand and San Juan have faced in compiling respective records of 5-2 and 7-0 so far, the consensus is that such the higher seeds and first-round byes rather belong to region members playing league games week in and week out.

However, the coaches shouldn't be too critical about the seeding arrangements since neither team has been welcomed into the regions. While the two long-distance schools are anxious to become full-fledged league members, region coaches are holding out against making the treks to Moab and Blanding.

TWO-MEMBER LEAGUE: In following up an item previously reported here, Region 12 officials opted for a two-game region schedule between the league's only two football teams, Parowan and Milford. There had been talk about a one-game league schedule or a possible third matchup added for the two. However, the teams will meet only twice in the regular season.

For the record, Parowan triumphed in the first meeting. If Milford should win the second game and tie the league standings at one game each, the two will sqaure off immediately following the game for a four-down playoff to determine the league champion. The playoff winner's prize - the league's top playoff berth.

PRINCE CROWNS LOCAL PLAYERS: Brighton's Chris Reilley and Skyline's Allison Bradford - graduated singles champions during the 1988-89 school year - have been named to the 1989 Prince Tennis All-America teams.

Seventy-five players each were named to the boys' and girls' teams. And with a grade-point average of 3.80, Bradford also was received Academic All-America acknowledgment - one of the 20 total honorees.

Others boys earning honorable mention honors were Darren Mansell, Brighton; Drake Vincent, Brighton; Shelby Saberon, Bonneville; David Pack, Granite; and Jason Goodson, Cottonwood. And the honorable-mention girls were Suzi Ennenga, Hillcrest; Stephanie Ball, Alta; Rachelle Tanner, Brighton; Jennifer Jensen, Hillcrest, and Lisa Mackay, Brighton.

Since much of the Prince honors is based on players' achievements during the 1988-89 school year, a number of the 1989 honorees have already graduated.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE: The UHSAA's recent Distinguished Service Award recepients included: 4A coach of the year, former Clearfield basketball coach Craig Hansen; 3A coach of the year, Murray swimming coach Larry Swim; 2A coach of the year, Delta wrestling coach Ladd Holman; 1A coach of the year, Rich volleyball coach Cindy Stuart; female official of the year, prep volleyball official Julie Burchell; male official of the year, prep basketball, volleyball and baseball official Jim Gilbert; and athletic director of the year, Weber athletic director Lee Dickemore.