Facebook Twitter



The Utah Regional Ballet, with Jacqueline Colledge as artistic director, will bring its "Nutcracker" to Provo for six performances Dec. 20-23. Sponsors are the BYU Community Concert Series and Family City USA of Orem.

Performances will be in the de Jong Concert hall, Harris Fine Arts Center at BYU, nightly Wednesday-Saturday at 7:30 p.m., with matinees Friday and Saturday at 2 p.m. Tickets are $7.50 evenings and $5.50 matinees, with $1 discount for senior citizens and BYU faculty and students, available at the BYU music ticket office, 378-7444.Ballet West principal artists Jiang Qi and Bruce Caldwell will alternate as the Cavalier, by permission of Ballet West artistic director John Hart. Michael Onstad, formerly a principal dancer with Ballet West, will play Drosselmeyer, as he did in 1988.

Dancing other major roles are Julie Blacker and Heather Colledge, Sugar Plum Fairy; Gina Dunkley and Emily Morrey, David Woods and Michael Wojack as Snow Queen and King; Tami Smith and Angie Sumsion with David Woods and Michael Wojack in Waltz of the Flowers pas de deux; and Brittnee Colledge and Teresa Adams as Clara.

Triple casting of children allows more than 250 dancers to perform. Ralph Laycock will conduct the orchestra for evening performances, with taped music for matinees.

Jacqueline Colledge danced with Ballet West for several years, and studied at the University of Utah with Bill Evans, Willam Christensen, Gordon Paxman, Bene Arnold and Mattlyn Gavers. She danced many solo roles and worked with such choreographers as Lew Christensen, Jacques d'Amboise, Michael Smuin, Dimitri Romanoff and Francia Russell.

Colledge opened a school of classical ballet in 1976 in American Fork, and organized the Utah Youth Ballet in 1981. The company became the Utah Regional Ballet in 1984, after a successful audition for the Pacific Regional Ballet Association. As an honor company of that organization, URB has had numerous performance opportunities. Colledge herself is active in adminstration of PRBA, as a three-year board member and host of the 1988 PRBA Festival.