Facebook Twitter



As the Church continued to expand during the 1980s, so did the need to expand accordingly the governing body of Church leaders.

In the April 1984 general conference, six men were called to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy for a period of three to five years, setting a precedent for a new tenure of service in that quorum. Members of the quorum called before the announcement were to continue serving on a permanent basis."This procedure," said President Gordon B. Hinckley, who announced the calls, "we feel will provide a constant infusion of new talent and a much widened opportunity for men of ability and faith to serve in these offices."

More brethren received similar calls in subsequent conferences, and in April conference of 1989, creation of the Second Quorum of the Seventy was announced. At that time, President Thomas S. Monson said, "With the rapid growth of the Church, . . . the time has come to take additional steps to provide for the expansion and regulation of the Church." Those in the Second Quorum were under a five-year call; the first eight releases came in October 1989, as did the granting of emeritus status of eight Brethren from the First Quorum.

Executive councils at Church headquarters were formed in March 1982, with the organization of the Missionary, Priesthood, and Temple and Genealogical (Family History) Executive Councils. During conference in October 1986, President Taft Benson also announced the discontinuance of seventies quorums in the stakes of the Church.