Facebook Twitter



Weber State College will award six honorary degrees and three posthumous degrees during the June 9 commencement, marking the close of the college's centennial year.

The college's Institutional Council voted Thursday to award honorary doctorates of humanities to Robert A. Clarke and James R. Foulger, former college administrators; John S. Hinckley, an Ogden businessman; Blanche Browning Rich, an Ogden philanthropist; Merlon Stevenson, former coach of all WSC athletics; and Orson W. Young, an emeritus professor of zoology.The three posthumous degrees will be given in honor of Lewis F. Moench and H. Aldous Dixon, who served as college presidents, and to Lewis W. Shurtliff, president of the college's first Board of Education.

"It's appropriate during our centennial year that we honor some of the great individuals who have given so much to this institution. We thank these men and women who have made major contributions to Weber State and to the community," said WSC President Stephen D. Nadauld.

Weber State was founded in 1889 and is celebrating its centennial throughout 1988-89.

Clarke joined the WSC faculty in 1937 and retired in 1976. He was dean of faculty for 20 years and was named administrative vice president in 1976.

Foulger was at Weber State for 36 years, from 1948 to 1984. He started as the treasurer and became a faculty member in the school of business in 1948, later serving as department chairman and vice president.

He served as an assistant football coach for two years, initiated the initiated the financial aids office and supervised research and development, personnel, college development, public relations and athletics.

Hinckley is the president and manager of Hinckley Dodge in Ogden and is the 1989 chairman of the Weber State Centennial Fund Drive, which has raised more than $12 million to date toward a college endowment.

Rich, the wife of the late Junior Edward Rich, an Ogden physician, has been involved in the development of Union Station and is an honorary board member of both the Union Station and the Ogden School Foundation.

Through the years, she has made sizable donations to WSC, Utah State University, the University of Utah, Dixie College, the Utah Symphony and McKay-Dee Hospital. She is an active supporter of the Utah Symphony and has also funded the annual Ogden School Spring Arts Festival.

Stevenson came to WSC in 1921 and retired in 1964. He served as dean of instruction, chairman of the standards committee and chairman of the math and physical science division.

Stevenson's Wildcats won the Rocky Mountain Junior College football title in 1924, and during his coaching days the college won eight straight football championships.

Young was a professor of zoology for 40 years, from 1933 until 1973.

He served as president of the Utah Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters. That organization appointed him to start and direct the Science Fair program for the state. Later the academy selected him to direct the "Visiting Scientist" program.

Shurtliff is credited as being the most important person associated with the founding of Weber State. He organized the first Board of Education and served as president of that board from 1888 until 1908 and then as vice president until 1922.

Through Shurtliff's efforts, the first campus was acquired and the first permanent building constructed. He was one of the founders who mortgaged his home and property to see the college through a financial crisis.

Moench was appointed first principal from 1889 to 1892 and again from 1894 to 1902. He directed the school through its beginning years and saw the college move to its first permanent campus.

Dixon began his career at Weber State in 1914, where he directed the activities of the normal college curriculum during its first two years. He served as president from 1919-1920, then left to become superintendent of Provo City Schools. He returned for a second term from 1937 to 1953.

Under his leadership, college enrollment more than tripled, curriculum grew and a technical program was instituted that shaped the college's future. He led the fight for four-year status, secured a new campus site and saw the construction of the first buildings on the present-day campus.

Family members will receive the posthumous degrees.

The commencement will be in the Dee Events Center.