Facebook Twitter



Pleasant Grove took 28 seconds to win the state 3A wrestling championship Saturday night at the Dee Events Center.

Heavyweight Robbie Jones walked onto the mat with his PG team tied with Sky View and Uintah for first place. And 28 seconds later, Jones had Jordan's Curt Myrick pinned, with the crown going to the Vikings as defending champion Uintah's two-year reign was snapped.In the 4A meet, Box Elder used a strong showing in the consolation bracket to take an insurmountable 19-point lead over West Jordan and a 21-point lead over 11-time defending champion Brighton into Saturday night's finals.

The Bees had three men in the finals, but only 189-pounder Brad Whitaker managed an individual championship with a pin over West Jordan's Travis Ketchum.

Box Elder Coach Mike Ripplinger said he was surprised to have the title wrapped up going into the finals, but he would not predict the start of an 11-year dynasty for his own team. Instead, he said the 4A competition is destined to be a wide-open battle next year.

West Jordan captured two individual crowns, with Chris Ogura winning at 130 and Jason Casto at 152. Casto becomes the third of his family to capture a state crown. His win guaranteed the Jaguars a second-place finish for his father-coach Verl "Tex" Casto.

"It was hard on him (Jason) knowing that two brothers had won - but it sure was exciting," said the elder Casto.

Brighton's Greg Holton captured the 125-pound division and teammate Chris Skudlarczyk won at 140 pounds, but it wasn't enough to keep the Bengal championship string alive.

Uintah made a run at Pleasant Grove early, as the Utes picked up three of the first five individual titles - Quinn Dickson at 112, Brian Van Tassell at 125 and Russ McKee at 130. With no wrestlers in the middle weights, Uintah had to wait for Bruce Darlington's win at 189 to climb back into a three-way tie with PG and Sky View.

Darlington's win spoiled Sky View's shot at a piece of the crowd as the Ute wrestler pinned the Bobcats' Troy Schwartz to put Sky View in a wait-and-see position. Sky View had used wins by Bob Lowe at 140 and Ray Richards at 145 and Brendon Bagley at 160 to stay in the hunt.

A referee's decision gave Mountain Crest's Blair Powell the 171-pound title over Sky View's Tom Lamont added to Sky View's woes. Lamont and Powell finished in a 4-4 draw after overtime, but the decision went to Powell, who had recorded the first takedown in the match.

PG added titles from Chad Jacob at 119 and Nathan Hilton at 135.

The 4A MVP awards went to American Fork's Chris Tenney at 112 and Granger's John Marsh at 160. Tenney's win capped a 30-1 season, while Marsh finished at 25-0 with his title.

In the 3A, Uintah's Van Tassell at 125 had a 31-0 record, joined Sky View's Bagley at 160 with a 30-1 season for MVP honors.

Other 3A champions included Tooele's Shane Perkins at 103, and Payson's Shayne Ford at 152. In the 4A, titles went to Hillcrest's Ted Sierer at 103, Cottonwood's Greg Carrell at 119, Clearfield's pair of Eric Larsen at 135 and Bill Garritson at heavyweight, Viewmont's Allan Freestone at 135, and Bonneville's Larry Hansen at 171.