clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Adrien F. Taylor, co-publisher, co-editor of the Moab Times Independent, was honored Wednesday evening at the 34th annual awards banquet of the University of Utah department of communication.

The editor and publisher and immediate past president of the Utah Press Association received the department's Quintus C. Wilson Alumni Achievement Award. Wilson, retired founder of the U. journalism department, was among some 150 students, faculty and community leaders attending the gathering.A U. journalism graduate, Taylor was cited for her journalistic and scholastic honors and for her long community service, ranging from service to the handicapped and senior citizens to the Utah Girl Scout Council.

Jerry O'Brien, Salt Lake Tribune publisher, received the department's Service to Journalism Award for significant contributions to journalism in the Salt Lake area.

A former Associated Press Bureau chief for four years, O'Brien has been with the Tribune 25 years and publisher since 1984.

Also honored were U. department faculty members J. Boyer Jarvis and Parry D. Sorensen, who in addition to their journalism responsibilities have served in a number of university administrative posts.