clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Darrell Green of the Washington Redskins won his third NFL Fastest Man title in the event's four-year history Saturday, defeating Anthony Miller of the San Diego Chargers in the finals.

Green, an All-Pro cornerback, had a winning time of 6.14 seconds while Miller, a wide receiver, was clocked in 6.30 seconds in the 60-yard dash.The victory was worth $25,000 to the 29-year-old Green, a six-year NFL veteran who also won this competition in 1986 and 1988. Miller, an NFL rookie last season, earned $15,000.

Green defeated Sam Graddy, a wide receiver who recently signed as a free agent with the Los Angeles Raiders, in the semifinals and Clarence Verdin, a wide receiver with the Indianapolis Colts, in the opening round.

Miller reached the finals by beating wide receiver Ron Brown of the Los Angeles Rams in the semifinals and running back Herschel Walker of the Dallas Cowboys in the first round.