clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


- JANET KAUFFMAN, winner of the Rosenthal Award for Fiction, will be reading her stories and poetry next week. She will be at Orson Spencer Hall at the University of Utah at 8 p.m. on May 8.

Kauffman has published two books of poetry, a novel and two collections of stories.The reading is free and open to the public.

Call 581-6168 for information.

- WRITERS AT WORK - the Park City writers conference - has announced the winners of its 1989 Fellowship Awards.

Pam Houston of Park City and Robin Beeman of Iowa City, Iowa, were the fiction winners. Lusia Slomkowska of Putney, Vt., and Carolyne Wright of Seattle took the honors in poetry.

Sharman Russell of Mimbres, N.M., took first in non-fiction, with Julia Reid of Salt Lake City taking second.

First-place winners receive $500 and publication in Quarterly West. Second place is $200 and free registration at the conference.

- THE UTAH ASSOCIATION of the National League of American Pen Women also has named its 1989 contest winners.

Alice Morrey Baily won in the category Serious Poetry; Belle deJong Van Wagenen won for Light Verse; Maxine Jennings won in Narrative Poetry; Helen Mar Cook took the Short Story prize; Dora D. Flack won in Juvenile Story; Dorothy Walsh Farnell placed first in General Article; Wanda S. Petersen won in Historical Article; Dora D. Flack won Slice-of-Life Vignette and Marilyn O. Chapman placed first in the President's Award-Essay category.

- JANET SYLVESTER, a University of Utah poet, will read from her work at Weber State College at 10:30 a.m. May 11 in room 201 of the Social Science Building.

For information call the Utah Arts Council at 533-5895.