Unbeaten Louisiana Tech, Washington, Stanford and Tennessee received top seeds for the 1990 NCAA Division I women's basketball tournament.

Louisiana Tech (29-0), the top seed in the Midwest, and Tennessee (25-5), the top seed in the Mideast, joined Georgia, Mississippi and Long Beach State as teams that have made the tournament each of its nine years.The Southeastern Conference led the 48-team field with six schools receiving berths. The Big Ten followed with five teams, and the Atlantic Coast Conference and Pacific-10 Conference each sent four teams.

Each of the top four regional seeds will receive first-round byes in the tournament that concludes with the Final Four in Knoxville, Tenn.

The first and second rounds will be played on campus sites March 14-18. Four teams will advance to the regionals March 22-24.

The championship game will be April 1.

In the East, top-seeded Tennessee will face the Old Dominion-St. Joseph's (Pa.) winner. Byes went to Virginia, Providence and Connecticut. Other first round games in the East will match Clemson against Manhattan, Maryland against Appalachian State and Florida State against Penn State.

In the Mideast, top-seeded Washington (26-2) will meet the DePaul-Western Kentucky winner. Auburn, Iowa and Northwestern drew byes. In the other games, South Carolina will face Bowling Green, Vanderbilt will play Rutgers and Richmond will meet Tennessee Tech.

In the Midwest, top-seeded Louisiana Tech will draw the Southern Mississippi-Louisiana State winner. North Carolina, Texas and Purdue drew byes. The other Midwestern first-round contests will match Northern Illinois against Texas Tech, Ohio State against Southern Illinois and Michigan against Oklahoma State.

In the West, top-seeded Stanford (27-1) will meet the winner of the Montana-Hawaii game. Georgia, Stephen F. Austin State and UNLV received byes. Other first-round games in the West include Long Beach State against California and UCLA against Arkansas.

Appalachian State, California, DePaul, Michigan, Northern Illinois and Richmond all received their first NCAA women's tournament bids.