clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Salt Lake attorney Norman S. Johnson was named 1990 Lawyer of the Year at the Utah State Bar annual meeting this week.

Johnson, a shareholder in the firm of Van Cott, Bagley, Cornwall & McCarthy, specializes in corporate and securities law. A former Bar president and state delegate to the American Bar Association, Johnson was cited for his professional service and high standards.Other awards presented at the Bar meeting:

- Distinguished service to the Bar - Brian D. Florence, a partner in the law firm of Florence and Hutchinson. He was honored for his long history of service, including six years as a Bar Commissioner and as president of the Weber County Bar Association.

- Distinguished lawyer, posthumous - LeRoy S. Axland, one of the founding partners of the Salt Lake firm of Suitter, Axland, Armstrong & Hanson. He served on a number of Bar committees and sections and was also president of the Salt Lake Bar Association.

- Appellate court judge of the year - Utah Supreme Court Justice Christine Durham, who was appointed to the court in 1982. She currently serves on the education committee of the American Bar Association's Appellate Judges Conference.

- District court judge of the year - 2nd District Judge David E. Roth, who was appointed to the district court in 1984. Before that, he was a judge in the 3rd Circuit Court, Ogden City judge and chief deputy Weber County attorney. Roth is a member of the Utah Judicial Council, serving as chairman of its policy and planning committee.

- Circuit court judge of the year - 8th Circuit Judge A. Lynn Payne, who was appointed in 1987. Payne practised law in Vernal and is a former Salt Lake County prosecutor. He is currently chairman of the Justice Court Standards Committee.

- Juvenile court judge of the year - 1st District Juvenile Court Judge David W. Sorenson, who was appointed in 1988 after three years of service on the 1st Circuit Court bench. Sorenson served as a district attorney and was a Bar commissioner from 1975 to 1981.

- Distinguished pro bono service award - Charlotte L. Miller, a member of the Salt Lake firm of Watkiss & Saperstein, where she practices employment and transactional law. She is president-elect of the Utah Young Lawyers and has served as chairperson of the Bar's pro bono committee.

- Pro bono law firm of the year - The Salt Lake firm of Parsons, Behle & Latimer, whose 46 shareholders and 35 associates were represented by James B. Lee. The firm was cited for providing pro bono legal services to a number of organizations and individuals, including those referred by the Salt Lake County Bar Domestic Relations Program, Utah Legal Services and federal magistrates.

- Outstanding young lawyer of the year - John A. Adams, a shareholder in the firm of Ray, Quinney & Nebeker. Adams practices in the area of general commercial litigation, appellate advocacy and insurance defense. In 1985, he was president of the Bar's Young Lawyers Section.

- Trial lawyer of the year - Raymond M. Berry, a partner in the firm of Snow, Christensen & Martineau. His practice concentrates on tort and insurance defense work. Since being admitted to the Bar in 1955, Berry has handled more than 3,000 tort cases and has tried more than 250 cases before juries.