The winners of a statewide essay contest sponsored by the Utah Press Association and the Utah Committee on the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights were awarded certificates in a program at the Utah State Capitol.

Thirty-eight student winners, in kindergarten through grade 12, special education and schools for the blind, were given certificates and copies of the U.S. Constitution by Gov. Norm Bangerter. First- and second-place winners also received $50 Savings Bonds.Prize winners were as follows:

Special education category: First place, age 11: Ryan Barton, Vernal, Discovery School; First place, ages 6-9: Leonard Winder, St. George, Panorama Elementary; First place, second grade: Sarah Turner, St. George, Panorama Elementary.

Kindergarten: First place: Ed Shinkoskey, Salt Lake City, home school.

1st Grade: First place: Darin Vorwaller, Tooele, Tooele Elementary School; Second place: Lance Walker, Sandy, Peruvian Park; Third place: Camilla Whitney, Murray, Grant Elementary.

2nd grade: First place: (tie) twins Cleah Shinkoskey and Carol Shinkoskey, Salt Lake City, home school; Second place: Angie Jones, Murray, Grant Elementary.

3rd grade: First place: Linda Luc, West Valley City, Farnsworth Elementary; Second place: Chris Van Tassell, Morgan, Morgan Elementary; Third place: Kristin Millet, Murray, Grant Elementary.

4th grade: First place: Kimberly McKay, West Jordan, Riverside Elementary; Second place: (tie) Candice Jones, Spanish Fork, Park School, and Tifanee M. Jacques, Morgan, Morgan Elementary; Third place: Rachel Proctor, Sandy, Peruvian Elementary.

5th grade: First place: Sarah E. Naylor, Salt Lake City, Wasatch Elementary; Second place: Megan Farnsworth, Duchesne, Duchesne Elementary; Third place: Chad Glass, Vernal, Discovery School.

6th grade: First place: Talia Shinkoskey, Salt Lake City, home school; Second place: Adam Thompson, Orem, Orem Elementary; Third place: Huy Nguyen, Salt Lake City, Edison Elementary.

7th grade: First place: Jeremy Young, Enoch, Eagle Academy; Second place: Sarah Udall, Salt Lake City, Clayton Intermediate.

8th grade: First place: Jason Noble, Salt Lake City, Clayton Intermediate; Second place: Deanne Winterton, Morgan, Morgan Middle School; Third place: Ashley Stewart, Vernal, Vernal Junior High.

View Comments

9th grade: First place: Adam Richards, Vernal, Vernal Junior High.

10th grade: First place: Kelli Tyree, Salt Lake City, Highland High; Second place: Heather Henderson, Provo, Provo High; Third place: Sherrie McMullin, Richmond, Sky View High.

11th grade: First place: Emily Draper, Delta, Delta High School; Second place: Jacob Swindler, Salt Lake City, Highland High; Third place: Amy Watterson, Benson, Sky View High.

12th grade: First place: Tiffany Evans, Smithfield, Sky View High; Second place: Dianne Hales, Hinckley, Delta High; Third place: Tamara Jackson, Provo, Provo High.

Join the Conversation
Looking for comments?
Find comments in their new home! Click the buttons at the top or within the article to view them — or use the button below for quick access.