Twelve Weber State University faculty members have received Hemingway Faculty Development awards totaling $36,953.

Robert B. Smith, vice president for academic affairs, said the money will fund seven projects designed to increase student retention, improve students' knowledge and cultivate students' intellectual skills and understanding.Neila Seshachari and Judith Elsley of the English department and Dean Collinwood of the sociology department, received a combined award of $10,459 to develop a six-credit-hour honors course titled "The Global Connection: Gender in Myth, Literature and Society."

Peter Vernezze of the philosophy department received $3,476 to develop a course that cultivates students' skills in critical thinking, writing and speaking.

Dixie Blackinton and Diane Pugmire of the mathematics department received $7,062 to develop an experimental course to improve students' algebra skills.

Ron Deeter and Brad Roghaar of the English department received $5,000 to create a new curriculum for high school seniors introducing them to the demands of college writing, speaking and critical-thinking skills.

Carol Hansen of library sciences and Priti Kumar of the English department received $5,000 to organize an off-campus retreat on methods of integrating gender and multicultural issues into course instruction.

Tony Spanos of the foreign languages department received $3,956 to develop a travel program designed to build Spanish-speaking skills among seconddary-school language teachers.

Carl Marti of the zoology department received $2,000 to develop a program encouraging faculty members to involve students in research that will lead to a student thesis.