clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Kolene F. Granger, assistant superintendent for instructional services, Alpine District, has been honored by the National Association of School Psychologists. The association issued a Certificate of Appreciation for Granger's efforts on behalf of Utah Students.

She was honored during a meeting of the Utah Association of School Psychologists recently.Granger was recognized for her strong advocacy for educational and mental health needs of students. As a coordinator for guidance in Jordan District, she developed a comprehensive curriculum for all students, kindergarten through 12th grade. She was associate superintendent of public instruction in the State Office of Education before returning to Alpine District, where she began her service as a teacher/-counselor in Pleasant Grove Junior High School.

- Mary Leisa Moore of Mapleton wears the Mrs. Utah United States 1991 crown.

Moore will represent Utah in the national finals in June at Las Vegas.

A model and actress, Moore teaches in the Granite School District and was named the state's outstanding water educator in 1990 by the Utah Education Committee.

Moore is married and the mother of two sons.

Tracy Schlach, Salt Lake City, was named first runner-up; Nancy Nicholas, Sandy, was second runner-up; Bobbi Gardner, Salt Lake City, was third runner-up; and Sharon Shamy, Salt Lake City, fourth runner-up.

- Dr. Anne G. Osborn, professor of radiology at the University of Utah School of Medicine, has been appointed to the National Advisory Neurological Disorders and Stroke Council.

Louis W. Sullivan, secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, announced Osborn's appointment, saying she is one expert who will help usher in the decade of the brain.

The council, an advisory group for the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, meets three times annually to review the financial applications of scientists researching brain and nervous system disorders. Osborn was one of five appointments to the council.

Osborn, a U. faculty member for 17 years, is an internationally recognized neuroradiologist.