Ty Detmer, Brigham Young University's Heisman Trophy winning quarterback, has been named the 1990 Sportsperson of the Year by the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce.

Fred Ball, president and chief executive officer of the chamber, made the announcement Monday.Detmer will be honored at a banquet tonight hosted by TV Guide magazine.

"The award is presented annually to the individual who has made the single most significant contribution to Utah sports during the year," said Ball. "Ty Detmer has not only brought great recognition to the Western Athletic Conference and BYU but to the entire state of Utah as well."

Detmer set numerous NCAA passing records in 1990 including most yards in a season - 5,188. He's only 425 yards short of the passing yardage record for a career.

Detmer helped BYU win its second straight WAC title as the Cougars finished the regular season with a 10-2 record. The season was highlighted by a 28-21 victory over then No. 1-ranked Miami.

The BYU quarterback suffered two shoulder separations in the Holiday Bowl against Texas A&M but is expected to recover fully in time for fall practice.

Previous to Detmer, who will be a senior in the fall, the chamber honored the following: 1989, Karl Malone; 1988, Missy Marlowe and Denise Parker; 1987, Mike Price; 1986, Jason Buck; 1985, Larry Miller; 1984 and 1974, LaVell Edwards; 1983, Steve Young; 1982, Greg Marsden; 1981 and 1980, Jim McMahon; 1979, Marc Wilson; 1978, Wayne Howard; 1977, Jerry Pimm; 1976, Susie Brasher; 1975, Art Teece; 1973, Steve Odom; 1972, Zelmo Beatty.