clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Here is the list of Tony Award nominations for Broadway's 1990-91 season. Winners will be announced Sunday in ceremonies to be televised from the Minskoff Theater by CBS at 8 p.m. MST.

Play: "Lost in Yonkers," by Neil Simon; "Our Country's Good," by Timberlake Wertenbaker; "Shadowlands," by William Nicholson; "Six Degrees of Separation," by John Guare.Musical: "Miss Saigon," "Once on This Island," "The Secret Garden," "The Will Rogers Follies."

Revival: "Fiddler on the Roof," "The Miser," "Peter Pan."

Actor, Play: Peter Frechette, "Our Country's Good"; Nigel Hawthorne, "Shadowlands"; Tom McGowan, "La Bete"; Courtney B. Vance, "Six Degrees of Separation."

Actress, Play: Stockard Channing, "Six Degrees of Separation"; Julie Harris, "Lucifer's Child"; Cherry Jones, "Our Country's Good," Mercedes Ruehl, "Lost in Yonkers."

Actor, Musical: Keith Carradine, "The Will Rogers Follies"; Paul Hipp, "Buddy . . . the Buddy Holly Story"; Jonathan Pryce, "Miss Saigon"; Topol, "Fiddler on the Roof."

Actress, Musical: June Angela, "Shogun, the Musical"; Dee Hoty, "The Will Rogers Follies"; Cathy Rigby, "Peter Pan"; Lea Salonga, "Miss Saigon."

Book, Musical: "Miss Saigon" by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg; "Once on This Island" by Lynn Ahrens; "The Secret Garden" by Marsha Norman; "The Will Rogers Follies" by Peter Stone.

Score, Musical: "Miss Saigon," composer Claude-Michel Schonberg, lyricists Richard Maltby Jr. and Alain Boublil; "Once on This Island," composer Stephen Flaherty, lyricist Lynn Ahrens; "The Secret Garden," composer Lucy Simon, lyricist Marsha Norman; "The Will Rogers Follies," composer Cy Coleman, lyricists Betty Comden and Adolph Green.

Director, Play: Richard Jones, "La Bete"; Mark Lamos, "Our Country's Good"; Gene Saks, "Lost in Yonkers"; Jerry Zaks, "Six Degrees of Separation."

Director, Musical: Graciela Daniele, "Once on This Island"; Nicholas Hytner, "Miss Saigon"; Eleanor Reissa, "Those Were the Days"; Tommy Tune, "The Will Rogers Follies."

Featured Actor, Play: Adam Arkin, "I Hate Hamlet"; Dylan Baker, "La Bete"; Stephen Lang, "The Speed of Darkness"; Kevin Spacey, "Lost in Yonkers."

Featured Actress, Play: Amelia Campbell, "Our Country's Good"; Kathryn Erbe, "The Speed of Darkness"; J. Smith-Cameron, "Our Country's Good"; Irene Worth, "Lost in Yonkers."

Featured Actor, Musical: Bruce Adler, "Those Were the Days"; Hinton Battle, "Miss Saigon"; Gregg Burge, "Oh! Kay!"; Willy Falk, "Miss Saigon."

Featured Actress, Musical: Daisy Eagan, "The Secret Garden"; Alison Fraser, "The Secret Garden"; Cady Huffman, "The Will Rogers Follies"; La Chanze, "Once on This Island."

Scenic Design: Richard Hudson, "La Bete"; Heidi Landesman, "The Secret Garden"; John Napier, "Miss Saigon"; Tony Walton, "The Will Rogers Follies."

Costume Design: Theoni V. Aldredge, "The Secret Garden"; Judy Dearing, "Once on This Island"; Willa Kim, "The Will Rogers Follies"; Patricia Zipprodt, "Shogun, the Musical."

Lighting Design: Jules Fisher, "The Will Rogers Follies"; David Hersey, "Miss Saigon"; Allen Lee Hughes, "Once on This Island"; Jennifer Tipton, "La Bete."

Choreography: Bob Avian, "Miss Saigon"; Graciela Daniele, "Once on This Island"; Dan Siretta, "Oh! Kay!"; Tommy Tune, "The Will Rogers Follies."

A special Tony Award for continued excellence by a regional theater: Yale Repertory Theatre.