clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania unilaterally adopted principles of economic relations with the Soviet Union Friday that maintain strong trading links with Moscow.

Leaders from all three republics, meeting in Jurmala, Latvia, passed a seven-point document stipulating that trade would be on a bilateral clearing basis, meaning it would not be paid for in hard currency.The document also said that as long as the Baltic states use the ruble as their integrated currency, the circulation of money will be regulated on the basis of a bilateral agreement with the state bank of the Soviet Union.

The most forceful point of the document declared that "all economic facilities on the territories of the Baltic states will be under the jurisdiction of these states."

There was no immediate comment from central Soviet authorities to the Baltic Council declaration, but it seemed unlikely that Moscow would agree to hand over all or any economic facilities in the republics without negotiation.

The adopted document was a clear admission that strong economic links exist between Moscow and the three independence-seeking republics, which were annexed into the Soviet Union in 1940.

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have all passed declarations of sovereignty.