clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Ten individuals and an academic department have received Weber State University presidential awards.

The 10 were honored by WSU President Paul H. Thompson during May banquets. P. Gail Campell, coordinator of the dental hygiene clinic, and Dulcie M. Carlile, a personnel specialist in accounting, were honored with the Presidential Outstanding Classified Staff Award.

Chick Hislop, WSU's track coach, received the Presidential Outstanding Professional Staff Award.

Yasmen Simonian, associate professor of medical technology, and Nancy Haanstad, assistant professor of political science and philosophy, received Presidential Exemplary Teaching awards.

Don Sharpes, professor of secondary education, and Bret Harvey, assistant professor of zoology, received Presidential Outstanding Scholarship awards.

Ron Wooden, professor of music, and Carol Hansen, assistant professor of libraries, received President Extraordinary Service awards.

Gene Sessions, a professor who has taught in the history department for 16 years, was designated a John S. Hinckley fellow.

Thompson also gave a Department Service Award to the performing arts department. The award includes $1,500 and a traveling trophy.