clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


The Associated Students of Weber State University honored 12 individuals and two organizations recently for exceptional contributions to the university and surrounding communities.

The winners of the 1991 Crystal Crest Awards include:- Robert L. Bateman, "Alumnus of the Year." A regular campus speaker on financial planning, Bate-man is a local financial planner and insurance executive. He is a past president of the Weber State Young Alumni Association.

- Brad Barton, "Athletic Achievement" award. A four-year letterman in cross-county and track, Barton received the Joseph F. Breeze Award for significant contributions to athletics at Weber State.

- Greg Duffin, "Talent of the Year." An actor, singer and dancer in several Weber State presentations, Duffin was recognized for demonstrating the highest levels of skill in the performing arts.

- Stephanie Reed-Citte, "Scholastic Achievement" award. A biology major and "Upward Bound" volunteer, Reed-Citte was recognized for maintaining the highest academic standards while applying her knowledge in meaningful endeavors.

- Clista McCashland, "Friend of Students." A secretary in the communications department, McCash-land is a fan of music, theater and sports. She received the William P. Miller Award for providing service to students that surpasses traditional expectations.

- Karen Lofgreen, "Master Teacher." An associate professor of teacher education, Lofgreen is a faculty senate member and is involved in other campus activities. She was recognized for her contributions to learning at Weber State through scholarship, teaching style and interaction with students.

- Brandi Johnson, "Personality of the Year." Advertising manager for the campus newspaper, the Signpost, and for the Downtown Street Festival in Ogden, Johnson was recognized for personal style that enriched campus and community life.

- Janalea Beard, "Student Achievement" award. A peer adviser at the Academic Advisement Center, Beard was nominated as "Mother of the Year" in Clearfield. She was recognized as a student who overcame obstacles to achieve excellence in academics, community efforts and extracurricular activities.

- Susan Norton, "Woman of the Year." While active in the ASWSU, Norton was also captain of the woman's basketball team. She was recognized for leadership, scholarship and personal integrity.

- Lane Alvey, "Man of the Year." A former ASWSU president, Alvey serves as student assistant in the president's office. He was recognized for unselfishly applying his talents to benefit the campus and surrounding communities.

Crystal Crest Awards for organizations went to Psi Gamma Pi sorority and campus radio station KWCR.

Psi Gamma Pi members hold the highest combined grade-point average of any Greek organization at Weber State. The sorority was recognized as "Student Organization of the Year."

KWCR was recognized as "Campus Organization of the Year" for its efforts in support of volunteerism and cultural exchange with Vytautas Magnus University in Lithuania.

Special Crystal Crest Awards were presented to Doug Peterson, ASWSU president, and Ben Day, president and chief executive officer of the Coca-Cola Co. of Ogden. Day was recognized for his involvement in hospital projects and other community efforts.

Crystal Crest winners were selected from among nearly 600 candidates nominated by Weber State students, faculty, staff members, alumni and neighbors. Nominees were screened by 11 campus committees, which reviewed applications, personal interviews, essays, letters of recommendation and transcripts.