Facebook Twitter



The only high school state tournaments which feature boys and girls competing against each other take place Wednesday when the 4A and 3A golf meets are contested.

The 4A tournament will be played at Bountiful City Golf Course, with the 3A meet set for Green Spring Golf Course in St. George. Golfers will play 18 holes with the 3A meet starting at 8 a.m. and the 4A at 9 a.m.Not only are the girls allowed to play, some have legitimate chances to contend for the individual titles.

Alta's Skyli Yamada is one of the top young female golfers in the nation in her age group. She played all summer in national tournaments, placing high in several. At the Region 2 tournament, Yamada finished in a tie for ninth in helping lead the Hawks to the region title.

Defending champion Bingham has a strong team again that includes Cami Whitehead. She was one of the top golfers in the local junior girls circuit during the summer and she tied for third in the Region 3 meet.

The Miners will be one of the favorites again. They handily captured the Region 3 title last week, defeating runner-up Taylorsville by 27 strokes. The Miners are led by Dustin Dehlin, who won the region title, Chad McDaniel, John Wood and Whitehead.

Alta, behind Yamada, Lance Richards, and Aaron Smith, won the Region 2 title last week and will be one of the teams to beat. Skyline, which finished second, may have the top golfer in Troy Lashley, who won several local junior tournaments this past summer. Brighton and East from Region 2 should also contend.

Timpview has been the golf power in the state in recent years, winning 10 titles during the last 12 years. Last week the T-Birds captured the Region 4 title ahead of Orem and Provo. Up north, Davis won the Region 1 title.

With the 3A tournament being held down south this year, you have to watch for local teams such as Cedar City, which was second last year, Pine View, which tied for third last year and Dixie. The defending champion is Springville, which always fields a strong team. Box Elder, which won the title in 1990, always has one of the top teams from up north.