clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Former Utah Arts Council director Ruth Draper has been named the recipient of this year's Cathedral of the Madeleine Arts and Humanities Award.

In announcing the award, committee chairman Drew Browning cited "the broad spectrum of contributions that Ruth Draper has made in her longtime dedication to both the arts and the humanities."A former president of the Utah League of Women Voters and field office representative for Sen. Frank E. Moss, D-Utah, Draper was appointed director of the Utah Arts Council in 1974. Under her leadership the council developed such programs as Artists in the Schools, Folk Arts, Performing Arts Touring and Visual Arts Touring. From 1985 to 1991 she served as a regional representative for the Western states for the National Endowment for the Arts.

The award is to be presented at the Madeleine Award banquet April 26 at the New Yorker Club. Reservations may be made by calling 328-8941.

Previous honorees include M. Ray Kingston, Gene Pack and the late Geoffrey C. Hughes.

- THE UTAH SYMPHONY Corporate Council will present its annual Maurice Abravanel Award to the George S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Foundation at the council's annual luncheon April 8 at Little America.

According to the orchestra's vice chairman for development, Valley Band & Trust Co. president Michael Danielson, the award recognizes "outstanding service, leadership and support to the Utah Symphony." Previous recipients have been Obert C. Tanner, Wendell J. Ashton and Jon. M. Huntsman.

Established in 1960, the Eccles Foundation has given to the orchestra in many ways over the years, including sponsorships and support of the Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition during the years it was held under Utah Symphony auspices. In addition the late George S. Eccles served on the symphony's board of directors for 22 years.

At present there are more than 240 businesses in the Corporate Council. Board chairman Ken Knight called their contributions "invaluable to the growth and stability of the organization."

- ROBERT MENDENHALL has been elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Gina Bachauer International Piano Foundation, with Arlene Darger as vice chairman and Linda Babcock as secretary.

Mendenhall, who is president and chief executive officer of Wicat Systems Inc., succeeds Robert Belanger as Bachauer board chairman.

Also recently appointed as the organization's general manager is Andrea Barnes, replacing Diana Ellis. Holder of a master's degree in arts administration from the University of Utah, Barnes served for six years as director of development for Pioneer Theatre Company.

Other board members include Kent Acomb, Ron Crapo, Marilyn Hollingsworth, Mary Kay Lazarus, Stella Packard, Barbara Patterson, David Pollei, Ted Simmons, Barbara Tanner, Neva Fickling, Robert Graham, Randall Mackey, Beverly Nelson and Brent Ward.

The next Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition will take place in 1994, with the youth competition set for 1993 and the annual Bachauer Piano Festival this June.

- THE DANCERS' COMPANY of Brigham Young University won top honors at the recent Northwest Regional College Dance Festival in Moscow, Idaho. "On the Shoulders of Significant Others," choreographed by Keith Johnson for the 13-member modern dance ensemble, was the winning entry. Johnson, formerly with the Dancers' Company, now dances with Ririe-Woodbury.

Modern dancers from 16 colleges and universities in Washington, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Idaho and Colorado competed, said company director Marilyn Berrett. Both of the BYU company's entries - "Shoulders" and "Sanbourne Et Al" were among eight works selected for the closing night gala concert.

The Dancers' Company will represent the Northwest Region in performance at the National College Dance Festival in Phoenix in May.

The two winning works and other repertory will be showcased at "Inside Dancers' Company," a concert to be presented Thursday and Friday, March 26 and 27, at 7:30 p.m., in the dance production studio, 185 Richards Building on the Provo campus.