clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


The Utah Library Association has announced the winners of its annual service awards, which will be presented during the association's conference in mid-April.

Pete Giacoma, director of the Davis County Library, was selected to receive the distinguished service award. He has served as the association's legislative chairman and vice chairman of the Children's Services Roundtable.J.D. Williams, professor of political science at the University of Utah, will receive the special service award for his outspoken support for freedom of access to information.

Amy Owen, director of the Utah State Library, was named librarian of the year. She was recognized for her lobbying efforts and her leadership in the 1991 Governor's Conference on Libraries.

Patricia Y. Arter, a graduate student at the Brigham Young University School of Library and Information Science, was chosen to receive the Baker and Taylor Grassroots Grant.