clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


A seven-county area in south-central Utah has been declared eligible to receive federal assistance for resource conservation and development proj-ects.

The designation makes the counties eligible for federal technical and financial assistance for land conservation, water management, community development and other environmental concerns. The counties are Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne, Piute, Garfield, Juab and Millard."We'll be working closely with local leaders to expand economic, cultural and recreational opportunities for local residents and to enhance the environment," said Francis T. Holt, state conservationist with the Soil Conservation Service.

The Resource Conservation and Development Program was established 30 years ago.

Local councils set their own conservation and development goals, identifying agencies, groups and foundations to fund and carry out specific projects, Holt said. The U.S. Department of Agriculture provides each area with a project coordinator to assist the council in its work."