clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

SALT LAKE NEIGHBORHOODS

Local Government Action

Salt Lake CountyAt its meeting Wednesday, the commission:

- Asked the county attorney to evaluate a request by White City residents for reimbursement of legal fees incurred in connection with planning issues.

- Scheduled a meeting with department heads to consider a new affirmative action plan, which includes an accountability system and a "Women/Diversity Advisory Council."

- Approved a request allowing the Alzheimer's Association to develop a wildlife grove on the banks of the Jordan River near 300 S. 1200 West.

Libraries

Dr. Seuss: A live mime and musical performance of Dr. Seuss' "Horton Hatches the Egg" will be presented at the following branches: Sprague, 2131 S. 1100 East, 11 a.m. Saturday, March 7; Main, 209 E. 500 South, 7 p.m. Monday, March 9; Avenues, 455 F Street, 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 10; Rose Park, 1185 W. 1000 North, 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 11; Chapman, 577 S. 900 West, 10 a.m. Friday, March 13; Anderson/Foothill, 1135 S. 2100 East, 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 18.

Birds: Tracy Aviary personnel will bring live birds to Salt Lake County libraries during a lecture series on endangered bird species. Participating branches: East Mill Creek, 2 p.m. Saturday, March 7; C.S. Smith, 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 10; Kearns, 7 p.m. Thursday, March 12; Park, 7 p.m. Saturday, March 14; West Valley, 7 p.m. Thursday, March 19; Whitmore, 7 p.m. Monday, March 23; Sandy, 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 31; West Jordan, 2 p.m. Saturday, April 4; Magna, 7 p.m. Thursday, April 9; R.V. Tyler, 7 p.m. Thursday, April 23.

Gardening: Experts will offer gardening tips throughout March and April at Salt Lake County libraries. Utah State University master gardener Max Gurggraaf will explain vegetable gardening; USU's Spencer Mortensen will discuss soil preparation and natural gardening; and master gardener Golden Reeves will talk about basic gardening. Contact the county library system at 943-4636 for locations, dates and times.