Facebook Twitter


Hall of Famer Joe DiMaggio was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award as part of ABC-TV's Jim Thorpe Pro Sports Award show.

Other awards Monday night went to Jackie Joyner-Kersee as the Thorpe Performer of the Year, boxer George Foreman, former NFL player Dennis Byrd and race car driver Richard Petty.Individual sports winners were Michael Andretti in auto racing, Riddick Bowe in boxing, Barry Bonds in baseball, Charles Barkley in basketball, Emmitt Smith in football, Fred Couples and Dottie Mochrie in golf, Mario Lemieux in hockey and Jim Courier and Monica Seles in tennis.