Facebook Twitter



Dave McMillan proved to be the fastest in Saturday's fast Magna Classic 10,000-meter road race.

Breaking away from the field at the start of the race, McMillan was never challenged as he clocked a time of 29:03 on a fast point-to-point course that finished in Magna city park.McMillan was one of four runners to run under 30 minutes. Ken O'Brien, winner of the Salt Lake Classic, was second in 29:26. Paul Rosser was third in 29:39 and Criss James fourth in 29:49.

The Magna 10K is the sixth race on the Utah Road Racing Circuit. McMillan has won all but two of those races.

While the men's race was a rout, the women's race went to the wire. With a mile to go, Kathy Matson and Joleen DeWaal were running together, followed closely by Michelle Tetrus. A short time later, DeWaal opened a slight lead, but with about a quarter-mile to go Matson passed her and went on to claim a three-second win over DeWaal.

Matson was clocked in 34:14, DeWaal 34:17 and Tetrus 34:22. Cheryl Harper was fourth.

Gino Atencio won the master's race in 32:35, followed in order by Don French and Mike Patton. Deborah Wagner won the women's master's race in 38:25, followed by Ellie Arguello and Shirley Durtschi.