Facebook Twitter



Juab County has a new County Commission chairman.

Democrat Joseph Bernini was elected to replace Republican Ike Lunt following a motion by Commissioner Gordon Young, a Republican.Young said he made the motion because he believes rotating the chairmanship is a good idea.

Earlier, commissioners agreed to keep the same assignments, other than the chairmanship, as they had had in 1993. They also set a calendar for the coming year.

Lunt will serve on the Six County Executive Committee, the area organization of governments board and the Six County Economic Development Board. He will oversee the Class "B" road funds for east Juab and the west desert areas, the county fairgrounds and the courthouse and grounds. He will sit on the fair board, the Central Utah Film Commission, Ash Grove Community Council, the Juab County Economic Development board, the Executive Enterprize Zone and Pan-o-ram-a-land.

Bernini will serve as chairman of the commission, will be on the boards of the Council on Aging, Criminal Justice, West Juab Ambulance, the hospital, the Building Authority as chairman, Special Services District #2 (In Lieu of Taxes-Mineral Lease Funds), will oversee buildings and grounds in Eureka, will be on the Rural Development (East Juab Gas) board, will be over Juab County history, and will serve on the Citizens Advisory Council (Gunnison Prison).

Young will be on the weed board, library board, will be over East Juab Ambulance, will be on the Mental Health-Alcohol and Drugs and Health Board, will oversee Juvenile Justice, the Planning and Zoning Commission, will be on the Special Service District #1 board, the Six County Resource Conservation and Development Council, the Recreation Committee, and will be on the Land Use Planning board.

Commission meetings will be held on Jan. 3 and 18, Feb. 7 and 22, March 7 and 21, April 4 and 18, May 2 and 16, June 6 and 20, July 5 and 18, Aug. 1 and 15, Sept. 6 and 19, Oct. 3 and 17, Nov. 7 and 21, and Dec. 5 and 19.

The first meeting of each month will begin at 3 p.m. The second meeting each month will begin at 10 a.m.