Facebook Twitter



Fifty-two schools with ideas for improving education have been added to the list for consideration as Centennial Schools in Utah.

Gov. Mike Leavitt has submitted the list to the State Board of Education, which must give final approval. Those given the board's nod will get $5,000, plus $20 per student, to implement their innovations. For the average elementary school, the grant is $17,000.In addition, 48 of the schools named to Centennial status last year have been approved for reauthorization and returned to the state board for approval. They will receive two-thirds of the amount of the first-year funding to continue their programs.

Another 49 of the schools approved last year are still undergoing review and may still qualify for the second year of funding.

The Utah Legislature is also expected to provide funding for a third year.

More than 200 schools submitted applications for consideration this year.

"The committee set extremely high standards for schools to be designated Centennial Schools," said Scott W. Bean, state superintendent for public instruction. "They were very impressed by many of the innovations in the applications, but they observed that many schools still need to stretch further to be innovative, community-based and technology-driven, as a Centennial School should be." The door will remain open to those schools that were not selected to refine their applications , he said.

The criteria set for Centennial recognition are an innovative school strategic plan, site-based decisionmaking, use of technology to deliver education and involvement of school-business part-ner-ships.

The 34-member selection committee includes educators, business leaders, school board members, legislators and representatives of the governor's office and State Office of Education.

Leavitt, who has made the Centennial Schools concept central to restructuring education in Utah, said the schools selected are "great examples of innovation."

The Legislature appropriated nearly $2.6 million during its winter session to support the program. In the first year, $1.8 million was provided.

Chosen for consideration this year were:

American Fork and Mountain View high schools, Pleasant Grove Junior High School, Meadow and Northridge elementaries, Alpine District; Millville Elementary and South Cache Middle, Cache District; Westridge Middle, Carbon District; Bountiful and North Layton junior highs and Crestview, Farmington, Knowlton, Meadowbrook, Morgan and Syracuse elementaries, Davis District; Emery High School and Cleveland Elementary, Emery District; Escalante Elementary, Garfield District; Kearns High, Evergreen, Valley and Wasatch junior highs and Eastwood, Upland Terrace and West Kearns elementaries, Granite District; Cedar South Elementary, Iron District; Sprucewood Elementary, Jordan District; Juab High and Juab Middle, Juab District; Edith Bowen Elementary, Logan District; Morgan Middle, Morgan District; Longview Elementary, Murray District; Payson High and Payson Junior High, Nebo District; Parley's Park Elementary, Park City District; Timpview High, Dixon Middle and Rock Canyon, Timpanogos and Wasatch elementaries, Provo District; East High and Dilworth, Jackson and Indian Hills elementaries, Salt Lake District; Montezuma Creek and Monticello elementaries, San Juan District; Millcreek High, Washington District; Weber High and Child, Municipal and Pioneer elementaries, Weber District.