Facebook Twitter



Strong leadership played as much a part as skillful playing for the three players who have been selected as most valuable players in prep soccer for 1994.

Highland's Jacob Croft, Sky View's Ryan West and Park City's Mike Anderson all led their respective teams to state championships last month and have been chosen MVPs by the Deseret News in the 5A, 4A and 3A classifications.Soccer coaches from all over the state were given the chance to vote for the all-state teams, and their input helped select this year's all-state teams. Chosen players will receive all-state certificates from the Deseret News.

Croft played a big role for the Rams as a four-year starter. As a freshman, he helped lead Highland to the state semifinals, and after suffering with his team through a couple of lean years, helped bring the Rams from nowhere to the state 5A championship.

He was a marked man throughout the season and playoffs and was often the subject of double-teams by the opposition. Still he managed to lead his team in scoring, including one game where he scored three goals in overtime against Bountiful. In the 5A title game, Croft scored the clinching goal in the second half.

"He was our most valuable player throughout the season," said Ram coach Brock Varoz. "Jacob really helped us with his leadership, skill and desire as a player. He's a strong player who helped keep everyone in focus."

Also making the first team from Highland is defender Ben Lingen, whom many felt was the Rams' MVP during the state tournament as he helped the Rams defense allow just two goals in four games.

Roy, which lost to Highland in the finals, placed two players on the first team, forward Bryan Freeman and midfielder Jarrod Augustine.

In 4A, West helped lead Sky View to a surprising state crown. He played both midfield and striker as a three-year starter for the Bobcats and was best known for his speed.

`He's as fast as greased lightning," said Sky View coach Larry Petersen. "He's been our captain and had the most assists and shots on goal for our team."

Joining West on the 4A first team from Sky View are midfielder Cody Stokes, defender Kirt Sadler and goalkeeper Ryan Bates. Three players from runner-up Woods Cross made the team - forward Cameron Winquist, fullback Devon Gibby and goalkeeper Peter Carr.

Park City was sparked to the 3A title by senior center fullback Mike Anderson, who kept the opponents from getting many shots on goal.

"He's quiet but a leader by his actions," said Park City coach Gary Blanton. "He has a strong work ethic and would spark the defense by his aggressive play."

In the first round of the playoffs, Anderson turned offensive to keep the Miners alive by scoring with a minute to go to force overtime, then hitting the game-winner in OT.

Three other Miners garnered first-team honors - forward Enzo Mileti, midfielder Joe Pack and goalkeeper Chris Gay.

Class 1A doesn't hold a sanctioned state tournament, but Region 14 coaches selected an all-state team, which the Deseret News recognizes, although no MVP was selected.



1994 Deseret News All-State Soccer


MVP - Jacob Croft, Highland

First Team Second Team

FW - Josh Hogge, Viewmont Jorge Estrada, Highland

FW - Bryan Freeman, Roy Steve Robinson, Taylorsville

FW - Kevon Inouye, Orem Mark Breese, Viewmont

MF - Travis Cushing, Bingham Jared Heiner, Alta

MF - Tim Sleeper, Brighton Matt Wooley, Davis

MF - Tom Morse, Taylorsville Mike Clark, Viewmont

MF - Jarrod Augustine, Roy Jason Barrus, Layton

FB - Ben Lingen, Highland Rex Allen, Orem

FB - Judd Soderborg, Skyline Dan Boyack, Brighton

FB - Dax Parry, Layton Troy Killian, Cottonwood

GK - Chad Sackett, Davis Tysson Davis, Hillcrest

GK - Jon Kemp, Bingham Christian Sanchez, Highland

Honorable Mention

Matt Alba, Skyline

Jessy Jones, Hunter

Scott Badger, Bountiful

Jake Mangum, Orem

Russ Boyer, Brighton

John Morris, Viewmont

Phil Hansen, Skyline

Bryan Sharp, Kearns

Justin Henderson, Orem

Francisco Silva, Highland

Rick Ingram, Roy

Bry Spencer, Alta

Bryce Jolley, Mountain View

Aaron Stevenson, Weber


MVP - Ryan West, Sky View

First Team Second Team

FW - Cameron Winquist, WX Ryan Loveland, Olympus

FW - Keith Mason, Ben Lomond Omar Gonzales, WX

FW - Jared Patzke, Provo Nate Rockwell, Tooele

FW - Josh Haslam, Murray Jeremy Holmgren, Olympus

MF - Peter Pankratz, Tooele Darren Hancock, Tooele

MF - Cody Stokes, Sky View Dean Gordon, Judge

MF - Brent Noble, Jordan Tracy Hokum, WX

FB - Devon Gibby, WX Tim Muirbrook, Provo

FB - Kirt Sadler, Sky View Wade Van Horn, Jordan

FB - David Ravarino, Judge Steve Snarr, Murray

GK - Peter Carr, WX Steve Liptrot, Ben Lomond

GK - Ryan Bates, Sky View Jeremy Mohrman, Judge

Honorable Mention

Andy Barker, Granite

Nate Lundquist, Provo

Nic Butler, Sky View

Mitch Parrish, Sky View

Jake Clark, Provo

Ben Ridenhour, Logan

Andy Fullmer, Jordan

Brandon Smith, Murray

Ethan Gillespie, Olympus

Justin Webster, Payson

Jeremy Griggs, Murray

Jon Winn, Timpview

Mike Henstrom, Timpview

Chris Young, WX


MVP - Mike Anderson, Park City

FW - Enzo Mileti, Park City

FW - Nate Grimley, Lehi

FW - Corey Emloe, Uintah

FW - Jared Hafen, Lehi

MF - Joe Pack, Park City

MF - Taylor Yates, Pine View

MF - Chad Luck, Uintah

FB - Sam Wells, Lehi

FB - Kimball Leavitt, Dixie

FB - Josh Mahoney, Wasatch

GK - Caleb Gibson, Pine View

GK - Chris Gay, Park City

Honorable Mention

Chad Chamberlain, Lehi

Danny Kogan, Pine View

Jimmy Lane, Morgan

Greg Lemmon, Dixie

Felipe Navas, Pine View

Clark Pierce, Uintah

Gary Rosenthal, Park City

Nate Young, Lehi


FW - Sam Johnstone, Waterford

FW - Paradorn Karashudi, Wasatch Academy

FW - Chris Alexis, Rowland Hall

FW - Samuel Moreno, Wendover

MF - Isais Ruvakaba, Wendover

MF - So Lee, Mt. Vernon

MF - Wade Taylor, Meridian

MF - Nate Barnes, Waterford

FB - Jason Bacciagaluppi, Wasatch Academy

FB - Eric Fletcher, St. Joseph

FB - Jason Tunderman, Rowland Hall

GK - Geoff Swindle, Rowland Hall