Reba McEntire was nominated Tuesday for six Country Music Association awards - one more than either Vince Gill and Alan Jackson.

McEntire led the way with nominations for entertainer of the year, female vocalist of the year and single of the year, video of the year and vocal event of the year, the last three for her duet with Linda Davis, "Does He Love You."McEntire also was nominated with 21 others for participating in the album "Rhythm, Country & Blues," an all-star album that pairs country and R&B artists.

Nominees in 12 categories were announced at the Grand Ole Opry House plaza by country singers George Jones and Pam Tillis. Winners will be named Oct. 5 during a live CBS-TV special.

Gill, who will be host of the awards show, was nominated for entertainer of the year and top male vocalist. He also was nominated three times for album of the year for his work on "Rhythm, Country & Blues," and two other albums with large rosters of stars: "Asleep at the Wheel Tribute to the Music of Bob Wills & the Texas Playboys" and "Common Thread: The Songs of the Eagles."

Jackson will compete with Gill for top entertainer and male vocalist. He also was nominated for song of the year for "Chattahoochee" and twice for album of the year for his own "Who I Am" and for his contribution to "Common Thread."

Completing the finalists for entertainer of the year, the top award, were the duo Brooks & Dunn and Garth Brooks, country's top selling performer.

McEntire, 39, has released 15 albums during an 18-year career. She has sold 20 million albums, won two Grammy awards and branched out into acting. Her autobiography, "Reba: My Story," is currently a best seller.

Finalists were determined by 7,000 Country Music Association members - mostly singers, musicians, songwriters and others in the country music industry.

The finalists:

- Entertainer of the Year: Brooks & Dunn; Garth Brooks; Vince Gill; Alan Jackson; Reba McEntire.

- Female Vocalist of the Year: Mary-Chapin Carpenter; Reba McEntire; Pam Tillis; Wynonna; Trisha Yearwood.

- Male Vocalist of the Year: John Anderson; Vince Gill; Alan Jackson; George Strait; Dwight Yoakam.

- Single of the Year (for performer): "Does He Love You," Reba McEntire with Linda Davis; "Don't Take the Girl," Tim McGraw; "He Thinks He'll Keep Her," Mary-Chapin Carpenter; "How Can I Help You Say Goodbye," Patty Loveless; "I Swear," John Michael Montgomery.

- Album of the Year:

- "Asleep at the Wheel Tribute to the Music of Bob Wills & the Texas Playboys," Asleep at the Wheel featuring Chet Atkins, Suzy Bogguss, Garth Brooks, Brooks & Dunn, Vince Gill, Johnny Gimble, Merle Haggard, Huey Lewis, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, Jody Nix, Lucky Oceans, Dolly Parton, Leon Rausch, Herb Remington, Riders in the Sky, Johnny Rodriguez, Eldon Shamblin, George Strait and Marty Stuart.

- "Common Thread: The Songs of the Eagles," John Anderson, Clint Black, Suzy Bogguss, Brooks & Dunn, Billy Dean, Diamond Rio, Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Little Texas, Lorrie Morgan, Travis Tritt, Tanya Tucker and Trisha Yearwood.

- "Easy Come Easy Go," George Strait.

- "Rhythm, Country & Blues," Chet Atkins, Clint Black, Natalie Cole, Vince Gill, Al Green, Gladys Knight, Patti LaBelle, Little Richard, George Jones, B.B. King, Lyle Lovett, Reba McEntire, Sam Moore, Aaron Nevile, the Pointer Sisters, the Staple Singers, Marty Stuart, Allen Toussaint, Travis Tritt, Tanya Tucker, Conway Twitty and Trisha Yearwood.

- `Who I Am," Alan Jackson.

- Horizon Award (most promising artist): Faith Hill; Martina McBride; Tim McGraw; John Michael Montgomery; Lee Roy Parnell.

- Vocal Group of the Year: Alabama; Confederate Railroad; Diamond Rio; Little Texas; Sawyer Brown.

- Vocal Duo of the Year: Bellamy Brothers; Brooks & Dunn; Brother Phelps; Orrall & Wright; Sweethearts of the Rodeo.

- Music Video of the Year: `Does He Love You," Reba McEntire with Linda Davis; "God Blessed Texas," Little Texas; "How Can I Help You Say Goodbye," Patty Loveless; "Independence Day," Martina McBride; "Standing Outside the Fire," Garth Brooks.

- Song of the Year (for songwriter): "Chattahoochee," Alan Jackson and Jim McBride; "Don't Take the Girl," Craig Martin and Larry Johnson; "He Thinks He'll Keep Her," Mary-Chapin Carpenter and Don Schlitz; "I Swear," Frank J. Myers and Gary Baker; "Little Rock," Tom Douglas.

- Vocal Event of the Year: Aaron Neville and Trisha Yearwood, "I Fall to Pieces"; Conway Twitty and Sam Moore, "Rainy Night in Georgia"; Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette and Loretta Lynn, "Silver Threads & Golden Needles"; Reba McEntire with Linda Davis, "Does He Love You"; Mark O'Connor with Charlie Daniels, featuring Johnny Cash, Marty Stuart and Travis Tritt, "The Devil Comes Back to Georgia."

- Musician of the Year: Eddie Bayers, drums; Brent Mason, guitar; Mark O'Connor, fiddle; Matt Rollings, keyboards; Brent Rowan, guitar.