The University of Utah recently appointed three professors to faculty ranks reserved for only a few individuals who exemplify the highest goals of scholarship and teaching excellence.

Nicholas P. White has been named presidential professor of philosophy, a new rank reserved for scholars newly appointed to the faculty. He is the first person appointed to that position.Named as distinguished professors were Alexei L. Efros, a member of the physics faculty, and Janos Kollar, a member of the mathematics faculty.