clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


President Boyd K. Packer of the Council of the Twelve

Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin of the Council of the TwelveElder Robert D. Hales of the Council of the Twelve

Elder Robert K. Dellenbach of the First Quorum of the Seventy

Elder J Ballard Washburn of the Second Quorum of the Seventy

Presiding Bishop Merrill J. Bateman

- A buzz of anticipation filled the air on Temple Square on April 1 just before the start of the solemn assembly session of general conference. Members packed the Tabernacle and the grounds for an opportunity to participate for the first time in the sustaining of President Gordon B. Hinckley as prophet and president of the Church. Lines began forming even the previous evening on the sidewalks surrounding Temple Square. By early Saturday morning, after the gates of Temple Square were opened, the lines had swollen from the Tabernacle to the sidewalks outside Temple Square.

President Hinckley conducted the session, with President Thomas S. Monson conducting the conference business.

Providing music for the session was the Mormon Youth Chorus, with Robert C. Bowden directing and Linda Margetts accompanying. Elder W. Eugene Hansen of the Presidency of the Seventy and Elder V. Dallas Merrell of the Seventy offered the invocation and benediction, respectively.