Facebook Twitter



The Brigham Young University Department of Theatre and Film honored some three dozen top students during its annual end-of-the-year honors assembly.

Film student Jeffrey Isom received the Dean's Award and $500 from the College of Fine Arts and Communications as the department's best student. Also receiving top honors were Dan Austen, who was awarded $400 as winner of the annual Mayhew Screenwriting Award, while Erin Poulson was presented $1,000 as the winner of the Horrigan Award as the top sophomore student.Acting honors went to Jennifer Ereckson as best actress for her performance as Masha in "Three Sisters," while D.C. Wright was named best actor for his work in the title role of last summer's "Scapin." Best supporting actress was Amy Barrus, who portrayed Cinderella in "Into the Woods," with best supporting actor honors going to Todd Parmeley for his performance in "Three Sisters." Character acting awards were given to Kekoa Kaluhiokalani as the Third Witch in "Macbeth" and Carolyn Stone for her performance in "Playing for Time."

Film student Kellie Looslie received a regional student Academy Award for the film, "Nocturnal," while departmental film awards went to Jeff Isom and Rusty Jones for documentary editing in "Dick Traffic"; Ira Baker for narrative film editing and best original screenplay for "Time and Chance"; and Greg Whiteley for best screenplay adaptation for "The Village Singer."

Honors in art direction went to Nate Ogilivie for "The Village Singer"; in cinematography to Bengt Jonson for "The Village Singer" and "Lives Affected"; in directing narrative film to Ira Baker for "Time and Chance"; and in directing documentary film to Ken Garff for "Lives Affected."

VIP judges' awards went to film students Greg Whiteley for best narrative film for "The Village Singer" and Ken Garff for best documentary film for "Lives Affected"; while the Audience Choice awards for best film of the year went to Jeff Isom and Ruston Jones for "Dick Traffic."

Technical theatre awards went to Heather Riggs for stage management; Brad Nelson for lighting design in "Montpelier Farewell"; Ben Sanders for scenic design in "La Paloma"; Tara deGrey and Jason Smith for makeup design in "Into the Woods"; Deann DeWitt for costume design in "Playing for Time"; and Shawnda Ludlow for special service in technical theatre.

Excellence in dramatic theory, history and criticism awards were given to undergraduate student Scott Reynolds and graduate student David Warner, while excellence in film theory, history and criticism awards went to undergraduate student Jeff Isom and graduate student Charlene Winters.

Receiving the department's "generally outstanding student" awards were Jason Webb for music/dance/theatre, Steven Poulsen for theatre education, Adam Houghton for acting, Adam Blackwell for playwriting, Jennifer Kuntz for theatre directing and Carlton Eden for film.

Special acting awards for Mask Club workshop performances went to Shawnda Ludlow, D.C. Wright, Phoebe Candland and Barrett Ogden, while film acting honors went to Kevin Rahm for "Sullivan Ballou" and Mary Ethel Gregory for "The Village Singer."

Knikki Jacobsmeyer was awarded the Theta Alpha Phi Service Award from the department's theatre honor society, while Young Company director Donna Moore was named outstanding student in child drama.

At this year's Kennedy Center College Theatre Festival, Megan Scoville was an acting finalist, Chris Bentley and Veronique Enos were named acting semi-finalists, and Scott Reynolds was a Critics' Conference award winner.