Facebook Twitter



Brigham Young University's director of scholarships has announced the recipients of the 1995-96 Howard W. Hunter Scholarships, 10 of whom are from Utah.

The scholarship is named after the president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at the time the scholarship is awarded.The 24 eight-semester scholarship recipients had an average cumulative grade point average of 3.96 and an average ACT score of 33.5, in addition to outstanding extracurricular credentials.

The Utah recipients are:

Marcus E. Boyer of Springville High School. Boyer was a state Science Sterling Scholar, All-State Choir participant, drama lead, choir vocal soloist and varsity tennis player.

Rosalyn M. Collins of Provo High School. Collins was a member of the National Honor Society, Science Club and the Environmental Club. She has participated on Science Bowl and Science Olympiad teams.

Robert N. Christiansen of Highland High School. He participated in Highland's wind ensemble, jazz band and madrigals. He was also Seminary Council president and National Honor Society vice-president.

Jenny Cutler of Bountiful High School. Cutler participated in a cappella and Xela choirs, Senate, PTSA Student Council and on the newspaper and literary magazine staffs.

B. Travis Dastrup of Orem's Mountain View High School. Dastrup was Key Club service chair and orchestra president. He was in the National Honor Society and on the cross country and tennis teams.

Matthew J. Grow of Brighton High School. He was editor-in-chief of the Brighton BARB, named "Top Scholar" at the Utah State Academic Decathlon competition, president of the Model United Nations team, member of the varsity debate squad and General Sterling Scholar from his school.

Sarah Ray Hill of Logan High School. Hill was involved with debate, theater and the science club. She enjoys playing the piano, writing, reading philosophy and outdoor activities.

Jason R. Laxman of Bingham High School. Laxman was president of the National Honor Society at Bingham, a member of the Salt Lake County Commissioners' Youth Volunteer Council and a member of LDS Seminary Council.

Peter Madsen of Brighton High School. He was president and founder of the Freedom Club, a National Honor Society member and LDS Seminary Council member. He also participated in a school musical and in a cappella choir.

Bryan R. McRae of Bountiful High School. McRae was chairman of Teenage Republicans and vice president of the Honor Society. He was involved in madrigals, a cappella choir, jazz band and a school musical.