Facebook Twitter



Hundreds of citizen-politicians hoping to rule their local towns and cities are official candidates following Tuesday's filing deadline. Leading the pack are Salt Lake Mayor Deedee Corradini and Ogden Mayor Glenn Mecham who hope for second, four-year terms.

Towns that don't hold primary elections have a Sept. 26 candidate filing deadline. Oct. 3 is the primary election date; Nov. 7 the general election day.Corradini's race is the premiere contest in the state this year. She faces a former city commissioner, Stephen Harmsen, and a local attorney, Richard McKeown, as her main challengers.

Mecham is Ogden's first full-time mayor under the new council-mayor form of government. He's being challenged by three viable candidates, former county commissioner Randall Williford, current City Council member Bonnie McDonald and insurance agent Dar Belnap.

Ogden also has an at-large council seat up for election and elections in Municipal Ward 2 and Municipal Ward 4. McDonald is giving up her seat to run for mayor, and the other two incumbent members aren't seeking re-election, so three new council members will be elected this year.

Utah County cities don't have mayoral contests this year. But a full slate of council races should provide interesting public debates.

Provo has four council races, each with well-experienced candidates who will likely argue over a hot issue: Should the city impose a community standard of closing city facilities on Sundays?

Incumbents David Rail, Shari Holweg and Jim Daley are seeking re-election, and former councilman Mark Hathaway is hoping to regain the post he left two years ago when he ran for mayor. Also, several challengers are veterans in other areas of city government. All four races are likely to be close and competitive.

The city will hold a primary election to reduce the candidates in the Northwest District and citywide District 3 to two candidates for the November general election.

Ten candidates have filed for the three at-large Orem City Council seats up this year. The only female candidate is incumbent Judy Bell. She and fellow incumbents Kelvin C. Clayton and Steven L. Heinz are being challenged by Hans Verlan Andersen Jr., Bruce R. Decker, David K. Palfreyman, Joseph F. Ruffolo, Rob Schulthies, Clinton Thatcher and Michael J.S. Thompson.

The candidates represent a variety of neighborhoods as Orem is an at-large voting community, said Melody Downey, city recorder. Bell and Clayton live in the northeast section of town while Heinz is in a southwest area - the lone council member to represent that section currently.

Andersen and Schulthies also come from the southwest section. Decker lives in the south Car-ter-ville area. Palfreyman is a south Ridgecrest resident. Ruffolo lives in the northeast part of town, while Thatcher and Thompson are from the northwest area.

Spanish Fork council members Kim Petersen and Jerald Chapple are not seeking re-election, but former councilman Jack Leifsen has filed for office. Leifsen recently retired as director of public communications for Nebo School District.

City Recorder Kent Clark said the city will not have a primary election because fewer than seven candidates filed for office. Six candidates filed to run for the three open seats on the City Council

Five current and former American Fork City Council members head a large group of candidates seeking three seats. Candidates will likely debate how to handle an anticipated growth spurt due to Micron Technology building nearby. Balancing residential and commercial development will also be an issue.

The race for three openings on the Alpine City Council will likely focus on how candidates feel about annexing land north and east of the city.

Some residents believe hillsides adjacent to Alpine are better preserved in the hands of Utah County. Others, however, think annexing land into city control will better protect residents' interests.

Councilman C. Thomas Anderson, criticized by some residents for having a conflict in many land issues, is not seeking re-election. Councilman Roger E. Bennett is the only candidate who was elected four years ago by voters. Councilman George R. Compton, appointed to the council a few months ago when Robert Smith resigned, is hoping to retain his seat. With 10 candidates filing for office, a primary election will be held to reduce the list to six for November's general election.