Facebook Twitter



Quarterback Patrick Mullins directed six scoring drives and running back Abu Wilson had three touchdowns including a 70-yarder on the first play from scrimmage as coach John L. Smith sent his team through a two-hour full dress rehearsal Saturday at Romney Stadium in preparation for the season opener.

"We'll have to take a look at the film to see just how productive we were today," Smith said. "We tried to give our first team a good look at what to expect from Arkansas State."Mullins hit Jalonn Harrison with a 54-yard TD pass on the second series and scored on a 1-yard sneak midway through the scrimmage. The third drive produced a 42-yard field goal by Micah Knorr.

Backup quarterback Matt Wells found Aaron Frazier on a 12-yard pass for another score and freshman Griffin Garske threw two touchdown passes, a 50-yarder to freshman Mike Nielson and a 32 yarder to Jason Bandy.

Following Wednesday's scrimmage the coaches made up the depth chart they'll start the season with.

One of the few surprises in the new chart is that junior Darrin Mitchell, a second-team freshman All-American and a 1994 preseason All-Big West choice by "The Sporting News," has dropped to second-team weak guard behind redshirt freshman Ken Watts, a highly regarded player chosen first-team Best of the West (California, Oregon and Washington) by the "Long Beach Telegram."

Harrison, a senior who didn't play last year for personal reasons, won the battle with 1994 starter Shawn Turner, a junior, at one wide receiver spot. The other starting wide receivers are Ivy Russell and Kevin Alexander, with former offensive lineman Shawn Griswold cementing the tight end spot. Mike Murprhee, Brian Davies and Brandon Dyson are the other O-line starters, with Mullins and Wilson in the backfield.

Defensive starters are Danilo Robinson at stud end, Ben Crosland at defensive end and Walter Fiefia and Greg Stenson at tackles. David Gill and Kenyatta Green remain the starting linebackers, and the DB starters are Markell McCain, Terence Gaines, Sean Coleman, Spencer Waggoner and Mike Hudson. Micah Knorr will handle all the kicking, unless Nate Moreale's groin strain allows him to take over at punting in the next week.