clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Gov. Mike Leavitt has named three new members to the Utah Board of Water Resources. They will serve terms that begin Oct. 1 and end in March 1999. The appointees are:

- Warren H. Peterson, a Delta attorney who specializes in water and development interests. A graduate of Utah State University and the University of Utah College of Law, Peterson has been attorney for the city of Delta and Millard County. He is also president of the Delta Rotary Club.- Cleal Bradford, the former mayor of Blanding and current director of the San Juan Foundation for Higher Education and chairman of the Four Corners Heritage Council. Bradford holds an honorary doctorate from the College of Eastern Utah and is involved with the Utah Navajo Development Council and the White Mesa Ute Council.

- Harold Shirley, mayor of Cedar City. A high school English teacher for 28 years, Shirley has been president of the Iron County Education Association and is also active in Scouting and youth sport and recreation programs.

Leavitt also reappointed one member of the commission, Lucille G. Taylor of Spanish Fork, who was serving an unexpired term on the board. Taylor, a retired schoolteacher from the Nebo and Provo school districts, was named to the board in 1994. She is a former member of the state Legislature and the Snow College and Southern Utah State College institutional councils, president of the Nebo and Utah education associations and a member of the National Education Association Board of Directors.

The main function of the Utah Board of Water Resources is to oversee water-development funding programs.