clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Salt Lake City has a draft ordinance regarding recognition of community councils and its Salt Lake Association of Community Councils.

The city is already divided into eight community council districts (Avenues, Capitol Hill, Central, East Bench, East Central, Northwest, Sugar House, West Salt Lake) based on natural geographic boundaries, closely aligned to city planning districts and each containing community councils.Reasons for a new ordinance have not been clearly identified, but the community councils and their organization have experienced a year of disturbing "opinions" against them and their efforts to save and protect neighborhoods. Old and new groups all want "free" mailings, and thus want the city recognition so that this is possible, besides status. This is an item that will require careful scrutiny in the new recognition ordinance. The ordinance will be reviewed at an open house from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. on Sept. 13 and a public hearing Oct. 10.

Douglas Jackson

Acting chairman

and three additional signatures

Salt Lake Association of Community Councils