clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


The Utah State men's and women's teams came into the Big West track and field championships this weekend as big favorites.

They left Maughan Track Saturday afternoon as huge winners.The men racked up 235 points to easily outdistance second-place Long Beach State which finished with 149. UC Santa Barbara and New Mexico State tied for third with 90 points, while UC Irvine and Cal State Fullerton took fifth and sixth, respectively.

The Aggie women were even more dominant. They ended with a whopping 243.5 points, an overwhelming 112.5 points better than the next best team UC Irvine (131). UC Santa Barbara (108.5), Nevada (93.5), UNLV (88.5), Long Beach State , Cal State Fullerton and New Mexico State rounded out the women's competition.

"I didn't expect it to be this big of a blowout," said Aggie Wendy Egbert, who won the discus (168-0) and hammer (180-01) events.

There were three other Aggies who, like Egbert, claimed two conference titles in individual events.

Junior Ladonna Antoine won the most championship hardware of the meet as she finished with four first-place finishes. Antoine, who's in good position to represent her native Canada in the upcoming Summer Olympics, blazed to victories in the 200 meter (23.40) and 400 meter (51.92) races. She was also a key part on the Aggies' 4 X 100 meter and 4 X 400 meter relay teams that placed first. She was selected as Big West female athlete of the year.

On the men's side, Big West athlete of the year Brooks Gibbons (110-meter high hurdles and 400 meter intermediate hurdles) and Scott Schaley (shot put and discus) were two-event conference champs.

Schaley was especially pleased to do well since his parents made a 22-hour-long drive from Comanche, Iowa, to see him compete.

The Aggie men have won four straight conference titles, while the women picked up their third in a row.

Other Utah State athletes with first-place finishes include: Jennifer Davidson (100 meter hurdles), Kim Lutz (javelin), Jamie Hall (heptathlon), Matt Stowell (800 meters), Shane Bingham (1,500 meters), Mike Davidson (5,000 meters), Toby Conley (10,000), Paul Snyder (pole vault), Justin DeSantis (hammer) and Brian Dopp (decathlon).