clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Sprinter Obadele Thompson and Texas-El Paso's relay teams carried the Miners to the men's team title Saturday at the Western Athletic Conference track and field championships.

Brigham Young scored an easy win in the women's competition, rolling up points in the distance events and getting a conference record from Julie Bennion in the 400 meters.Thompson, named the performer of the meet in the men's competition, won both the 100 meters and 200 meters. He set a stadium record in the 100 with a time of 10.07 and won the 200 in a time of 20.35.

Thompson's UTEP teammate, Sam Rogers finished second in both events and Addis Huyler gave the Miners a sweep of the top three places in the 200.

UTEP won the men's title with 184 points. BYU was second with 1441/2, with Fresno State third with 1361/2 points.

UTEP won both the 400-meter relay and the 1,600 relay and also got first place finishes from Tero Tallinen in the hammer throw, Willie Mata in the 400 meters and William Porter in the 400 intermediate hurdles.

Eric Mack of Air Force won the 5,000 meters in a time of 14:52.81. Two BYU runners - Craig Lawson and Brandon Rhoads followed Mack across the finish line - and the Cougars took five of the top eight places in the race.

BYU's Marek Samseli won the triple jump with a leap of 51-11/2.

Brigham Young's women scored 257 points. Fresno State finished second with 1651/2 points and Colorado State was third with 991/2 points. UTEP was fourth with 96 points and New Mexico fifth with 47 points.

Bennion won the 400 in 54.35. That broke the previous conference mark of 54.63 by Janine Stewart of San Diego State in 1992.

BYU swept three of the top four places in the women's 1,500, led by Melissa Teemant in a time of 4:31.0.

The Cougars also got firsts from Kathryn Sorensen in the triple jump (40-93/4); Melinda Hales in the high jump (5-10) and Courtney Pugmire in the 5,000 meters (17:03.59).

Samone Cole of Fresno State won the 100-meter hurdles in a time of 13.86, while Melinda Sargeant of UTEP won both the 100 meters (11.19) and 200 meters (22.94).