clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Eight people have been elected to the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce's board of governors for three-year terms beginning July 1, according to Arlen B. Crouch, president of Franklin Quest Co. and board chairman until June 30. They are:

- Brad R. Baldwin, president of Bank One, Utah, which has 34 branches in Utah and 500 employees. Previously, he was senior vice president, general counsel and secretary of the bank.- Jon M. Huntsman Jr., vice chairman of Huntsman Corp., the largest privately held and familyowned chemical manufacturing company in the United States with 7,000 employees in 21 countries. He is a former deputy assistant secretary of commerce for East Asian and Pacific affairs.

- Ross E. Kendell, senior management project director for R.C. Willey Home Furnishings. Prior to that job he was president and chief executive officer of Key Bank of Utah, a company he joined in 1957.

- Don Leonard, president of Capital Consulting and Management, a government relations consulting and trade association firm with offices in Salt Lake City and Washington, D.C. He practiced corporate law for two years before serving as legislative director for Rep. Jim Hansen, R-Utah.

- E. George Mantes, president of Mantes Chevrolet Co. in Tooele and a Democratic state senator serving on the Revenue and Taxation, Health, Higher Education Appropriations and Executive Appropriations committees.

- Lorraine Miller, president and Cactus and Tropicals, a garden center offering retail sales and landscaping services. In 1994, she was named the national small business person of the year by the Small Business Administration, the first Utahn to win the award.

- Paul A. Ross, vice president and general manager of the Space Strategic Propulsion Business Unit at Alliant Techsystems. He is responsible for all material processing, case fabrication, propellent processing, rocket motor final assembly and test and plant maintenance.

- Peggy Stock, Westminster College's 15th president and the first woman college president in Utah. Prior to coming to Westminster, she was president of Colby-Sawyer College in New Hampshire.